We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed at the Howard Johnson with my family this past weekend (9/30-10/2) and had a great time! The front desk staff was very knowledgable about things to do on a rainy day. Very friendly staff! The bathrooms were updated, and there was plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children in the room. I'm ready to book my stay for 2012!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    208
    178
    100
    75
See reviews for
378
180
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I should of listned to the reviews but since I wanted ocean front we got it. The view was nice , location was nice and peaceful close to end of board walk. Hotel is a different story place is filthy I mean almost everything, hotel lobby is tiny and check Inn is not hospitable, Elevator glass has not been cleaned in a long time very dirty , hallway floors very dirty , room size kinda small enough for us to get our things but bathroom was very small no place to put anything bathroom was clean because they just put in a new shower no tub but rugs in room are really filthy you can see dirty trail marks in bathroom from rug. we have been in discusting hotels before and this one is up there , we would never stay there again nor recommend anyone stay there and if you pay full price you will surely be disappointed . We did have some issues with our safe on two occasions and they did come right away to resolve problem. some of the pool cushions had very large dirt ball stains could be seen from above YUK

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob1216h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

found this place to be very dirty and the front desk is not very friendly hallways are dirty and room is a smaller hotel room with dirty rug , I would not even walk on it without slippers , very dissapointed they do not put any real time in cleanlyness , some pool lounges were extremely dirty just an awful place. Location is nice and peaceful but distant from main attractions on boardwalk .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob1216h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was my first trip to Ocean City with four children, three 15 year olds and a 9 year old. The hotel was easy to find and the staff was very nice. Our room was an oceanfront and the view was beautiful. I liked that we were right on the boardwalk on the quiet end. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a microwave and fridge in the room. The package deal was a money saver. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softballmom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed there for a week. I was told it was an ocean front room.....yeah right! Get into the room, the door opens to a stoned area between HJ's and the next hotel, the patio door opens to the pool! Where was the ocean? Not to be found (at least to see). If we walked down 2 hallways, down a small set of steps and a walk up the ramp to the boardwalk....then we were ocean front! Room was small, not updated in a long time. We will not ever stay there again! eard there were bedbugs there, we did not have any problem with them at all. First couple of days pool was dirty, sand over the bottom, finaly Wednesday morning the pool was vacuumed. For what we paid per night could have stayed in a nicer hotel in Myrtle Beach cheaper!

Room Tip: Not sure there is a best room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
1.4 km away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
1.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#77 of 103 in Ocean City
504 reviews
0.1 km away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#61 of 103 in Ocean City
273 reviews
1.2 km away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#40 of 103 in Ocean City
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
Address: 2401 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3466
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,895 - ₹ 33,422
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing