We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in a pinch but "Costly"”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ambassador Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ambassador Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great in a pinch but "Costly"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My family and I went to OC last minute for a night at the beach. We stubbled on to the "Ambassador Inn". Quite cozy but very costly - $336.00 w/taxes & fees for one night ( A FRIDAY NIGHT AT THAT). The 2 bedroom apartment accomodated us well, the kitchenette was nice, the bathroom updated and nice but be sure the room you give your children is not the one with the ultra then walls so they don't hear the over exaggerated "SEXCAPADE" going on in the next room, they may need therapy afterwards. TOTALLY XXX RATED.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimlhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st 2016, The Ambassador Inn became the Newest Member of The Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group Team is very excited about this hotel with it's great downtown location. While we understand your last visit was not ideal, we sincerely hope you will consider coming again. Our mission is to provide excellent customer service and to make sure our guests know that we care and that we truly appreciate their business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    5
    6
    23
See reviews for
14
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I wish I would have read the reviews on this website prior to booking this hotel. The rooms are all on the 3rd floor and no elevator. The worst part was the air conditioner - you could tell that it had never been cleaned since it was installed - for someone having breathing problems this is terrible. The electrical outlet by the sink did not work, there was no lightbulb in the light by the bed, and the remote did not work with the TV that was in the room. They advertise Free WIFI but don't tell you that it does not work on the third floor until you ask. I never once saw a vaccum cleaner the whole 5 days I was there. YUK!!!! Even after we complained about the airconditioner it still was never cleaned during our stay. I had asked to have a Manager call me and the call never happened.

Room Tip: Rooms were small with no chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovinOC_LJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st 2016, The Ambassador Inn became the Newest Member of The Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group Team is very excited about this hotel with it's great downtown location. While we understand your last visit was not ideal, we sincerely hope you will consider coming again. Our mission is to provide excellent customer service and to make sure our guests know that we care and that we truly appreciate their business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Dayton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

From the outside, the Ambassador Inn looks super nice. It has the potential to be just that! It is a great distance from the beach and the boardwalk. However, it took us 52 minutes to check in and the attendant was SUPER slow. We ask 4 different times to see a room before we made a decision -- all 4 times we were denied! SHOULD HAVE BEEN A CLUE! Another clue should have been the rundown building in the parking lots with trash inside -- didn't see it until I checked in. The apartments were nice if they had been cleaned.The third floor rooms are super small -- nothing like the website pictures. There was a huge accumulation of dust on the air conditioners, appliances, headboards, and vents. If someone had breathing issues, they would have had an attack on the spot. I had to change my own lightbulb in the bathroom. There is no elevator -- healthy issues beware. The brochures mentions Wi-Fi but I couldn't find it, a DVD and coffee pot in the room -- not mine. I have to say that of all the hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, this was the most disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farmfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st 2016, The Ambassador Inn became the Newest Member of The Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group Team is very excited about this hotel with it's great downtown location. While we understand your last visit was not ideal, we sincerely hope you will consider coming again. Our mission is to provide excellent customer service and to make sure our guests know that we care and that we truly appreciate their business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We were hesitant to stay here with our 3 children after reading the reviews, but we didn't have any real problems. We stayed in an apartment though, I don't know about the rooms. The room could have been cleaner than it was, the floors are kind of gross but this is a beach hotel, I don't know what people really expect. There was some partying going on around us which we didn't really like, but that's anywhere also. We didn't get our towels the one day until later in the day, like 5pm. We really liked how it had 2 seperate bedrooms and a kitchen area because we have a baby. The water pressure is not good and the drain didn't want to drain after you were in the shower for a while. We loved the front porch area though, that was big and nice. I would say stay here if you are not super picky and are on a budget. We keep our stuff at home much cleaner, but it was a few days so we could deal. If you have all the money in the world go stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dollbaby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st 2016, The Ambassador Inn became the Newest Member of The Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group Team is very excited about this hotel with it's great downtown location. While we understand your last visit was not ideal, we sincerely hope you will consider coming again. Our mission is to provide excellent customer service and to make sure our guests know that we care and that we truly appreciate their business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mclean, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

I just got back from a trip to The Ambassador Inn for a Beach 5 Soccer tournament with my daughter. We reserved with the Ambassador Inn. We stayed in a single room with 2 beds and bathroom.

There are no deadbolts or safety locks on doors. We came back Saturday night, and while walking up stairs, 3 to 4 young adults come rushing down, and when we got upstairs, someone had been smoking marijuana INSIDE our room. The manager was unwilling to help. He walked upstairs and acknowledged that someone was apparently in our room smoking. But he was unable to give us a credit or help us. He said he called manager but he was unavailable, on a saturday night at 10:00. There was nothing he could do.

They charge you for your complete stay up front, and then if problem say no manager available, nothing we can do, that should tell you something about their expectations.

Stay away.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anothertraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st 2016, The Ambassador Inn became the Newest Member of The Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group Team is very excited about this hotel with it's great downtown location. While we understand your last visit was not ideal, we sincerely hope you will consider coming again. Our mission is to provide excellent customer service and to make sure our guests know that we care and that we truly appreciate their business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 km away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
2.5 km away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
1.0 km away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.7 km away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambassador Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador Inn

Property: The Ambassador Inn
Address: 5th Street and Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,251 - ₹ 14,910
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Ambassador Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ambassador Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambassador Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing