We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter visit”
Review of Rare and Rye

Rare and Rye
Ranked #50 of 472 Restaurants in Ocean City
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 39
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 March 2018

many restaurants were closed due to the time of year, but Rare and Rye was open and was a fantastic treat!

Thank PeggyWenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Owner at Rare and Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hey Peggy
Thanks so much for leaving us some love, we greatly appreciate it. We'll be switching over to our Summer menu soon enough so make sure to check back!

Cheers
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2018

Had a very enjoyable experience here! Started with these super tasty scallops and martinis! Entree was delicious, i picked the duck breast witch was totally worth it! Food is so fresh, the ambiance is splendid and our server Adrian was awesome! We will definitely go back!

Thank Gradinariu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Manager at Rare and Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hello,
Thanks for leaving us some love! We appreciate you taking the time to do so and we look forward to your next visit!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

My wife and I dined at Rare and Rye on a Saturday night in the off-season. Overall, it was a good experience that met expectations and we'll probably return.

The restaurant is outside of a hotel and there's plenty of parking. The bar occupies most of the first level with a few tables scattered around. Most of the dining is on the second floor "loft." We had a good table that overlooked the bar area. We found it a bit loud--but weren't sure whether that was a feature of where we were sitting (since we got both the bar noise and the dining room) or a very loud party right behind us, or a combination of both.

We each had the R&R Mule (very tasty) and an order of the Brie Baked Oysters. These were delicious--but we thought a bit on the smaller side. For dinner, my wife had the Rustic, which she described as very good chicken sandwich. I had the Whiskey Barrel, which was two pork BBQ sliders topped with cole slaw. These were excellent. Both sandwiches came with hand cut fries, and these were exceptional as well.

I finished the meal with a Balsamic Chill cocktail that was also pretty good though not as tasty as the R&R Mule.

Our server, "Harry," was excellent. He always seemed to know when we were ready to order or needed something. Great service from beginning to end.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CamAndPhoebsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Manager at Rare and Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hey Cam and Pheobs Dad,
Wow, what a thoughtful and thorough review. We always strive to be attentive and show everyone how much food means to us and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This place is not only a special occasion place but a place to go for a great meal ! We have eaten there at least 8 or 9 times now always great !

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Manager at Rare and Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hey John
We cant express how much your continued patronage of our restaurant means to us. We thank you for all the visits and all the kind words as well!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We wanted to try something new for Sunday brunch. When we arrived, we weren't sure about the parking situation since hotels are a little possessive of their areas in OC, but once we parked, we walked in the restaurant and were quickly seated. Overall, our server seemed lost an inexperienced. I asked for a drink menu from the bar and was told there wasn't one. I watched a lady from another table walk down to the bar and get a menu herself so I asked again. The waiter went and found one. The lady at the table next to us, who just paid, was upset since she also asked for one and was told the same answer we were given. The food was great! We really enjoyed it, but again, our server just wasn't on top of things (refills, extra napkins, time of the check, etc.) I was thinking of less stars, but the food gave this place one bump up...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Manager at Rare and Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hey Scott
I'm terribly sorry to hear you received anything less than exemplary service from our staff. There's absolutely no excuse for that! We strive everyday to show everyone how much we care about the overall dining experience and to fall short of expectations is terribly disappointing. We hope you'll stop back for another visit so we can redeem ourselves.
Have a great rest of your weekend.

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rare and Rye also viewed

 
Ocean City, MD
 

Been to Rare and Rye? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing