We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the lake”
Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed 17 May 2017

My husband and I just planned an overnight get away. Unfortunately Will O' the Wisp usually requires a 2 or 3 night stay most weekends during peak months. But we were able to stay the one night on a Sunday to Monday. We chose an efficiency which had been recently remodeled. The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen was nice (but no stove or dishwasher....which we did not need), and the bathroom had a great shower and double sinks. Someone brought a large dog in the condo nearby and it barked relentlessly for quite some time. People came out onto their porches and said they tried calling the front desk. Within 15 min peace was restored and we could sit on the porch and enjoy our view of the lake without constant noise. There are plenty of places to eat within a short drive and a market you could walk to on a nice day. More of the condo's are being remodeled and updated. We used to be able to burn logs in the fireplace, but now they only allow the artificial logs (which makes sense). So be sure to bring some along or you will pay top $ for them. Their indoor pool is wonderful and is a good size....larger than the usual hotel pools these days. They appear to be constructing an outside seating/bar area to the one side of the beach, which should be a welcome addition. One thing I will add here about our room (205A), there is a see through blind that gives you a great view of the sunrise ....if you enjoy being up at the crack of dawn. But there is no curtain and the light comes streaming in. Since the bed is located next to the sliding door to the porch, you will be waking fairly early if you're a person who likes it dark while sleeping (like me).

Room Tip: All units have a view of the lake. Entrance on 4th floor. Elevator very slow.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Will O' the Wisp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2017

Stayed in room 207 which had a separate bedroom from the main living area and two balconies. The room had two fireplaces and a really nice kitchen. The Condo was very clean and comfortable. Would love to stay again. More than one night would be great.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dscram2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

The condos all look out onto the lake and have wonderful views. We rented the one bedroom condo no 304. The condo itself was very outdated and seemed to be right out of the 1950s and needed to be updated. Everything in the condo was extremely worn out: curtains had holes in them, the satin edges of the blanket were separating, the corners of the bedrooms had spiders and spiderwebs, the carpets on the stairs were not probably not professionally done and looked like someone had stuck an accent rug with glue on each stair. The rugs that were probably were a sea foam blue at some point were now stained brown especially around the edges. The bottom of the door had a hole in it and was large enough to let a fairly large squirrel in. As a result we could very clearly hear what folks walking past we're discussing and I am sure we were heard pretty well in the hallway as well. We felt like we were in a seedy hotel. For the price of over $250 per night, our expectation of this place was a little more.
Having said that though the sunrises across the lake were wonderful and the unexpectedly updated and modern in house restaurant Aces Run really pleasantly surprised us. We also peeked into another 2bed 2bath condo that another family in our party was renting, and it seemed that their condo was much more updated and well maintained than ours. This place also has a very nice game room and an inside pool with hot tubs. All in all I would call it average and our condo would have probably earned one less star had it not been for for all the very friendly folks at the desk and restaurant. At this point in time will not recommend condo no 304, but one of the other updated ones may be better...

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Itzme2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriPropertyManager, Public Relations Manager at Will O' the Wisp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Had a very nice first floor condo walked right out on a sandy beach and the boat dock with a great view of the lake. Had a fire place in the living room and one bedroom. Since it was October we enjoyed the indoor pool with 2 hot tubs and a sauna. Plan to go back in the summer would love the same room.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazmanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriPropertyManager, Public Relations Manager at Will O' the Wisp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Dear Tazmanone,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of your Will O' the Wisp condo hotel vacation escape! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the summer time!

~ Your friends at Will O' the Wisp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We rented a loft condo unit for a long weekend in September, when the air was starting to crisp up and smell like fall. Our stay was very quiet and peaceful, although I imagine that is probably not the case during the summer when it gets busier. I liked that we could pick the exact unit we wanted from the Will O Wisp website, especially because the staircase on our loft unit seemed less precarious than others. I don't think the loft setup would be good for the elderly or those who have trouble with balance - just imagine having to get up to the bathroom in the middle of the night and navigating the stairs in the dark when you're half asleep..

We loved the view and the bright layout of our unit - it was just enough space for two adults, but it would be a cozy fit with any more than that. The kitchen was outfitted with proper pots and pans and the decor was tasteful. The loft was a little dusty, but not enough to prevent me from enjoying my stay. The wi-fi was spotty, and only really worked up in the loft - don't plan on streaming any video.

The building itself was somewhat dated, but still charming and welcoming, and they have a huge indoor pool/hot tub area that must be very popular in the winter. We did not try the restaurant on the premises, but it was nice to know that lunch and dinner options were only a short walk away. Although we didn't spend much time at the small beach, we enjoyed walking along the shore and admiring the beautiful view of the lake. We enjoyed our stay and will likely stay again if we are in the area.

A few things to note - the parking is a little tricky because there's only one short driveway to enter and exit the covered parking. So you have to be careful there's not a car exiting before you enter. There's a larger parking area that is easier to get into, but it's uncovered and a few steps farther to walk. Also, the hallways to the condo units are very narrow, due to it being an older building, so if you fill a bellhop cart with suitcases, it will take up the entire hallway which can cause a few traffic jams if there are other people in the halls.

Places nearby - there's a solid Italian restaurant called Brenda's, a short drive off of the main street. We went there several times and were struck by how friendly the service is. It's good old fashioned casual American Italian fare. Below the Italian restaurant is a coffee shop with lots of great baked goodies, which we really enjoyed for breakfast on a saturday morning. There's also a grocery store and outdoor sports shops near by, so the Will O Wisp is fairly convenient to retail and restaurants.

Room Tip: Make sure to look at the photos of the lofts on the website, so you can pick what's best for you...
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OffCourseTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriPropertyManager, Public Relations Manager at Will O' the Wisp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear OffCourseTravels,

Thank you for the extensive and well written review! I get the feeling that you enjoy the whole process of travel and the written word! Awesome!

Your descriptions of Will O' the Wisp were clear and lovely. Thank you for that! I am sorry that you were unable to try Ace's, the restaurant within our condo hotel resort, but you might want to add it to your dining list for your return visit because it is owned by Brenda, of Brenda's fame!

Thanks again for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Every season is beautiful at Deep Creek Lake so make a return visit soon!

~ Your friends at Railey Mountain Lake Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
5.4 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
0.9 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
301 reviews
0.9 km away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
239 reviews
12.6 km away
Oakland Motel
Oakland Motel
#3 of 3 in Oakland
9 reviews
2.8 km away
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Address: 20160 Garrett Hwy, Oakland, MD 21550-7133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: ₹ 3,248 - ₹ 6,496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Will O' The Wisp is the premier condominium resort at Deep Creek Lake. The private pool. sandy beach, and enjoyable onsite dining will make you want to take a second vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing