We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, has everything you need!”
Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, has everything you need!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Thanks, Trip Advisor... We used the reviews here and are so glad we chose unit 309. Everything seemed new - TV, carpet, lamps, etc. Loved staying on the same level as the pool and hottub. The weather wasn't great, and having a pool, hot tub, and exercise room all in one building was fantastic!

Would recommend Will o the Wisp, and especially unit 309!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyschangingpurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
33
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We have stayed in 309 several times and love it! It's on the same level as the indoor pool, hot tubs,and game room which is really convenient. The apartment has some nice homey touches and although the kitchen is small we were able to find what we needed in it. We like being able to spread the family out with the 2 beds in the bedroom and the choice of 2 pullout couches in the living room, all on 1 level. Great view, nice beach with swim area in summer for the kids and a boat dock. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have stayed here three times. We were booked into a loft unit the first time and have requested one each time since then. Very nice, very clean. Lots of fresh towels in the bathroom, a refreshing change from these days of stingy towel distribution. Wonderful view of the lake from the room and balcony. The on-site restaurant in fabulous. The halls and exterior are a bit dated,but the unit itself was updated with granite countertops, new furnishings, etc. Staff is very nice. Very enjoyable place to stay and a great location to enjoy Deep Creek Lake.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besturni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Put in Bay, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I am writing this review at home ( Pittsburgh) because my husband and I had to flee unit number 711 (loft) due to the heavy smoky smell. Both my husband and I had looked forward to this getaway over the Labor Day weekend and now it was ruined. A call down to the front desk was met with the promise of an ionizer which was supposed to take out the smell but we weren't taking chances and refused. In a nutshell, being a holiday weekend, there were no other condos available so our trip was over . We tried several other places but no rooms were to be found anywhere.

I expressed my dissatisfaction to the supervisor especially since the sign on the door entrance to the condo read "Non-smoking". He only said it was hard to enforce. He seemed totally insensitive to the problem his establishment had caused us. What a poor excuse for a manager. He never did apologize for any inconvenience.

As noted in other reviews, this condo was dated but the view and balcony would have been lovely if only we could have been able to breathe.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank winston124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My family has been to snowshoe West Virginia for years in the wintertime for ski trips. After a few bad (overpriced and overcrowded) years we decided to try something different. Will O the Wisp was excellent and we wished we would have started coming here sooner. We rented a full 3 story unit lakeside toward the center of the building and it was perfect. Nice beds and couches. Kitchen was smallish but good enough to put together a nice dinner the few times we didn't go out. I cant remember the unit number but you get to it from the level connected to the upper parking lot.

The pool was immaculate. The dual level hot tub was awesome for the adults.

The hotel was only a few minutes from Wisp resort and we were also pleasantly surprised at how nice that ski resort is. Highly recommend for even moderate to upper level skiers.

I think the biggest thing we took away from staying there is that it felt more "down to earth", less crowded, and cleaner than the highly commercialized Snowshoe. I think everyone enjoyed themselves a lot more there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
5.4 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
23.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
0.9 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
107 reviews
6.3 km away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
6.1 km away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Property: Will O' the Wisp
Address: 20160 Garrett Hwy, Oakland, MD 21550-7133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,219 - ₹ 6,437
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Will O' The Wisp is the premier condominium resort at Deep Creek Lake. The private pool. sandy beach, and enjoyable onsite dining will make you want to take a second vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing