We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have stayed here three times. We were booked into a loft unit the first time and have requested one each time since then. Very nice, very clean. Lots of fresh towels in the bathroom, a refreshing change from these days of stingy towel distribution. Wonderful view of the lake from the room and balcony. The on-site restaurant in fabulous. The halls and exterior are a bit dated,but the unit itself was updated with granite countertops, new furnishings, etc. Staff is very nice. Very enjoyable place to stay and a great location to enjoy Deep Creek Lake.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank besturni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Will O' the Wisp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

I am writing this review at home ( Pittsburgh) because my husband and I had to flee unit number 711 (loft) due to the heavy smoky smell. Both my husband and I had looked forward to this getaway over the Labor Day weekend and now it was ruined. A call down to the front desk was met with the promise of an ionizer which was supposed to take out the smell but we weren't taking chances and refused. In a nutshell, being a holiday weekend, there were no other condos available so our trip was over . We tried several other places but no rooms were to be found anywhere.

I expressed my dissatisfaction to the supervisor especially since the sign on the door entrance to the condo read "Non-smoking". He only said it was hard to enforce. He seemed totally insensitive to the problem his establishment had caused us. What a poor excuse for a manager. He never did apologize for any inconvenience.

As noted in other reviews, this condo was dated but the view and balcony would have been lovely if only we could have been able to breathe.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank winston124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My family has been to snowshoe West Virginia for years in the wintertime for ski trips. After a few bad (overpriced and overcrowded) years we decided to try something different. Will O the Wisp was excellent and we wished we would have started coming here sooner. We rented a full 3 story unit lakeside toward the center of the building and it was perfect. Nice beds and couches. Kitchen was smallish but good enough to put together a nice dinner the few times we didn't go out. I cant remember the unit number but you get to it from the level connected to the upper parking lot.

The pool was immaculate. The dual level hot tub was awesome for the adults.

The hotel was only a few minutes from Wisp resort and we were also pleasantly surprised at how nice that ski resort is. Highly recommend for even moderate to upper level skiers.

I think the biggest thing we took away from staying there is that it felt more "down to earth", less crowded, and cleaner than the highly commercialized Snowshoe. I think everyone enjoyed themselves a lot more there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Made reservations and the place sounded wonderful....views, fireplace in the room, etc
We were "put" in the "annex", in an adjacent motel that was dreadful. No view, no blinds, and basically, depressing. The Will O the Wisp does not serve breakfast or lunch...we traveled 13 miles to find a diner....We did not try the pool nor the other amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank amzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

A reviewer just mentioned this - and it's true - each condo has a different owner and you don't know what you're going to get. Ours (#505) was a bit rundown (fine for a beach vacation) and smelled of smoke (not good with kids). We called the front desk and they said the ionizer will take it out. If they in fact did it, we couldn't tell the difference. Beds were terrible.
Pool and hot tub are nice - but don't expect the towel rack to ever have a towel on it. Beach is great, view is beautiful and location on the lake is ideal. If you can look past the no-frills and aged units, it's a decent place for a lake vacation. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Really depends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
5.4 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
0.9 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
301 reviews
0.9 km away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
239 reviews
12.6 km away
Oakland Motel
Oakland Motel
#3 of 3 in Oakland
9 reviews
2.8 km away
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Address: 20160 Garrett Hwy, Oakland, MD 21550-7133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: ₹ 3,245 - ₹ 6,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Will O' The Wisp is the premier condominium resort at Deep Creek Lake. The private pool. sandy beach, and enjoyable onsite dining will make you want to take a second vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing