We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the cabins!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
green4859
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loved the cabins!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at Lodges at Sunset Village from March 1 to March 4. First and foremost, it was quite a pleasant stay. My family loved the cabin-style lodging so it was an overall a great experience. Only a couple of downsides...one is that the rental office didn't have after-hours front desk service so if you check in late (after 6 p.m.) and ran into any problems, there's no one available to help you. Another downside is that the cabin does not have the capability to cook your own food. It did have a microwave, a panini grill and a toaster but no portable stove. And these are the reasons I'm only giving it a 4-star rating.

Otherwise, everything else was great. We stayed in one of the cabins that had an outside hot tub. We used it one time because it was way too cold to use it a lot but we were glad that it was ready for use and didn't have to turn it on or wait for it to heat up.

Room Tip: If you want a better view of Deep Lake, choose a cabin on the lower row. But if you want a cabin wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green4859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    34
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
58
58
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was the 3rd time we have rented through Railey Mountain Realty, and the 2nd we have stayed at these lodges. The first time we stayed in a smaller cabin (2 Queen Beds, one floor) with our daughter, but this time was a birthday weekend away for my wife. We stayed in 45L, and everything was perfect. First the website clearly states what is not included so we just made sure to bring those items. Check-in was a simple process with very friendly staff. And to promote RMR even more, when I called last minute to book a cabin, they were generous enough to rent me the 2 story King cabin w/ hot tub that we stayed in at the same price as another smaller available 2 Queens w/ hot tub on one floor. That is customer service!

Upon arriving at the cabin we were surprised at how spacious it really was. The kitchen area (full fridge, sink, dishwasher, microwave) even included plenty of silverware and dishes for our stay. The first floor had a full bathroom which was very clean and well appointed, a bedroom area with King bed, flatscreen wall-mounted TV, dining table with 3 chairs. Then there is a separated living area with couch, coffee table, and beautiful fireplace that we left cracking for the whole stay! There is an amazing wood-carved stairway up to a 2nd floor loft area with Queen bed, full bathroom, and a really cool little alcove area that would be perfect for children or adults sleeping on sleeping bags. There are even lights for that space.

Outdoor is the hot tub, just a few short steps from the sliding door. After partaking in activiites at Wisp ski resort, we spent the rest of day and night in. We picked up Brendas Pizzeria pizza and salad for the cabin, and I would highly recommend that pizza, it was fantastic.

The beds were very comfortable, there was ample space for us, the fireplace was relaxing, and the smell of all of the wood furnishings and walls really makes you feel like you are deep in the woods someplace.

If there was any negative, which it really wasn't, was that there were handtowels and washcloths in our suite, but no full towels. I made a quick call, and within 20 minutes maintenance had delivered more towels than we could need for our stay. That was a very painless transaction there.

These cabins can be as romantic or family-friendly as you make them. I prefer self-sufficient loding when we go somewhere so I am positive that we will be staying in the lodges again. You will not be disappointed. The space, the cleanliness, the amenities...all were spot on and will surely make us repeat renters.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg,VA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I have already reviewed our specific cabin but realized that unless you know cabin numbers none of these reviews show up when doing a search. The lodges are near Deep Creek Lake and Wisp ski resort. The lodges themselves are not located lakeside but on the other side of 219 and there is no lake access from them. The lodges are modern, clean and beautifully built. The website is spot on when explaining the amenities in each lodge and some of these lodges can hold a lot of people plus some have hot tubs.. Ours was a 2 bedroom, 1 bath (sleeps 6). Contains a main room with king bed, gas fireplace, tv, a small dining table, dresser plus the kitchenette area and a very small 2nd bedroom with 2 bunkbeds and a tv. It is advertised as a hotel suite with a lodge experience which really means you get one roll of toilet paper and paper towels along with 4 bath towels with wash clothes but nothing else ....so come prepared!!! We were told over the phone that soap/shampoo etc was provided but if you read the website carefully you will see that is not the case.
The king bed was very comfortable but the bunk beds are not so. I guess that's why the kids get them.
The back deck is very small. On the upper level lodges there is a common area behind the back decks with 2 BBQ grills and 2 firepits. These are common area items but we found that the rental units where the BBQs and firepits were located was being claimed by the adjacent rental unit.. We even got reported to the management office for using their "space." There really should be a sign stating these are common area items especially because other than your lodge room microwave there is no way to cook over heat. We found the grills in constant use during the busy times but had bought our portable gas grill with us (not supposed to) and used it. Having only 2 bbqs grills in an area that could potentially have 150 people staying in it seems rather ridiculous. The lower level lodges have to climb a steep set of stairs to use the grills. Also the lower lodges have no back deck. As far as views the upper level has a view of the lake but it seems the lower level lodges do not.
As in other reviews we found problems upon check-in: a broken tv, a spotted bedspread and a broken deck light. We reported them the next morning and they were fixed that same morning (remember this is a rural area so get ready for some aggravation.) The cable never did work with all the channels...too much interference ....however the Wi-Fi was great!
Definitely not a long term stay option unless you are eating out a lot or gone to friend's houses to eat. There is nothing around the immediate area for children to do except play in the rocks between the cabins or in the very tight tthruway between the parking spaces on either side. Definitely not a romantic getaway unless you have to stay in your cabin and you are happy with that. Even the private hot tubs are in sight of the roadway or in view of common areas. The area is very quiet and is a respite from busy days and people.
I give it 4 stars because the cabins are very nice and as long as you know what you are getting and it fits what you need ....than it is great. These lodges are fairly expensive and without a lot of amenities you are really paying for the very nice and new lodge room experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MGRDNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Bring soap, even though these are "hotel style" they do not provide you with soap. Thankfully we were able to flag down the cleaning staff for an extra roll, with two kids it seems to go fast, apparently you are suppose to provide your own toilet paper as well. Staff was great, very personable it was nice to have a converation about the area with someone who took the time to listen. I also realized that the gentleman was a prior service member as well, thanks to his shirt, and it made sense why the place was so well maintained.

Our trip was great, relaxing. That was until we were packing up to leave.

As we loaded our car we witnessed a hevy set blonde hair lady having a discussion with the same guy that gave us the T.P. in the parking lot. You could tell by her body lanuage that she was being, well just flat out mean. Telling the staff that they were all wrong. I actually felt bad for the guy. I am sure that guy has been through enough hell, he didn't need it from her too.


I think the lady could have held her little bit*h session in an area other than the parking lot. Other than that, very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
18.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
23.2 km away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
71 reviews
6.2 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
109 reviews
33.0 km away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Sunset Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Sunset Village

Property: The Lodges at Sunset Village
Address: 23900 Garrett Hwy, McHenry, MD 21541-1665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,029 - ₹ 20,187
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodges at Sunset Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins offer the perfect setting! Deep Creek Lake is a popular vacation spot for its seclusion & beauty. The Lodges at Sunset Village cabin hotel suites provide privacy, allowing you to fully enjoy the majestic beauty of the mountains and lake. The Lodges offer you 27 Luxury Log Cabin Suites located in the heart of the lake area. Amenities including full kitchens or kitchenettes, hot tubs, Jacuzzis, free wireless, fireplaces, flat screen televisions, all with rustic luxury décor. Five Cabins are Lakefront and all cabins have access to the dock and lake area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Lodges at Sunset Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing