We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
140
27
15
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
27
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoaking tubscreened in porchoverlook roomcommon roomgreat roomother guestsgas fireplaceb and bharpers ferrybeautiful place to staycivil warblueberry pancakesrelaxing getawayeach morningwe loved our stayrooms are fineperfect hosts
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

The Antietam Overlook Farm was a beautiful B & B - we were visiting the battlefields and Harpers Ferry, and this B&B gave us a stunning view from a mountain top, beautiful room and excellent food. The hospitality was outstanding. Tina was friendly and knowledgeable. We hope to return!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JanetGodbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

We were greeted by the housekeeper who gave us a tour then took us to our room. We stayed in the General Quarters and the room had a fantastic soaking tub - perfect at the end of the day. The breakfast was hot and tasty - loved the baked pear! The room, actually the whole house, was decorated in the civil war era with lots of wonderful historic pictures and information. The family area was comfortable and warming. We met the owner and he was kind and repeatedly asked if we needed anything. We have stayed in many B & B and this is by far the best.
One problem - the closest town has nothing. We went to Captain Bender Pub and it was so-so. But we did go into Shepardsville to the Blue Moon and that food was exceptional We are civil war buffs and will be back. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great but for a romantic get away chose the Generals Quarters
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the General's Quarters which was very large and comfortable with gorgeous views. Staff is friendly and welcoming. They offer sodas,coffee and white wine free all day, as well as popcorn. The breakfast was large and delicious, although scheduled firmly at 9 for all visitors.

Convenient to visiting the Antietam battlefield, the Farm has stunning views of parts of the field and national park.

We typically are not B and B fans, preferring the services offered in hotels, but we were quite pleased with this stay. Overall a lovely B and B and a nice place to stay. I would return if we came back to the area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RoYa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Host John gave us orientation of the amenities when we arrived at 5pm and gave us ideas where to go for dinner (in nearby Shepherdstown WV) and then left us to make ourselves at home.

We booked the Wicker Room for my 17 yr old son and me, since it was the only room with two beds- the second bed is a small-ish window alcove bed that would have been better for a not-so-tall person. The room across from us was vacant, and we could see it had a very nice view at sunset, but we needed the extra bed, so could not stay in that room.

In the morning, Tina prepared a delicious multi-course breakfast (yogurt with granola and honey, home-made sausage, frittata-like cheesy eggs, pierogies, juice, coffee), and we dined family-style with a couple from TX.

The grounds and view are beautiful, the staff is low-key but helpful. Would be a great place for a romantic get-away.

Room Tip: "The Overlook" has a beautiful view. All but the Wicker Room have only one bed.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EthanJ149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We used to go here every year at Christmas time - for about 10 years, but kids came along and life happened and we just kind of stopped. After about a 15 year absence, we decided to go back for a visit. So glad we did! We had a wonderful weekend reliving old memories and making new ones. We probably won't wait another 15 years before going back. We are now thinking about maybe starting our Christmas visits again. Thank you for a wonderful time!!

Room Tip: We like the Gardenview Room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank xether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thanks. come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews