We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
140
27
15
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
27
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoaking tubscreened in porchoverlook roomcommon roomgreat roomother guestsgas fireplaceb and bharpers ferrybeautiful place to staycivil warblueberry pancakesrelaxing getawayeach morningwe loved our stayrooms are fineperfect hosts
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We had a wonderful and relaxing time at the lodge. The location and room are beautiful. We had a delicious breakfast in family setting and enjoyed the free drinks (wine, rum, etc.). The service was excellent.
We definitely and strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmutshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This review is several years late. Fiance booked this for Valentine's day since we both love history. We spent a few nights here, and from our room we could see Burnside's Bridge. The staff is GREAT, the rooms are great, no TV or internet from what I recall which I actually much prefer. The local food is also REALLY good in case you go into town for dinner. Food at the Antietam Overlook was also great. Overall a really really nice weekend, much of that thanks to the Antietam Overlook. Highly recommended, plan to go back sometime. Loved is so much, we got a gift certificate for my brother and his wife. This was 2013 I believe.

Room Tip: rooms facing the battlefield are the BEST
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris1776CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Room was lovely and very clean. Breakfast was delicious. Grounds and view are beautiful. Tina, inn staff, and Mark, the owner, were very helpful and friendly. Short distance to Harpers Ferry and some wineries.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msussman5726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Ok we can sum this up very easily. The room was $277 a night and worth it. The farm is gorgeous. The room was beautiful. The views were breathtaking. Henry the young caretaker who was very polite gave us a quick tour. If you want to experience a country décor this is it right out of a book. Our bed was very comfortable and it was the best night sleep I have had away from home. In the morning I enjoyed a fresh made breakfast including yogurt, main course and cheesecake for desert while sitting on the patio overlooking the valley and mountains. There is complimentary wine, brandy, soda and coffee. No doubt about it, WE ARE COMING BACK.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Antietam Overlook Farm delivered exceptional quality for a quiet escape to the rural and historic setting of the Sharpsburg Valley. My husband and I were overjoyed to be greeted upon arriving in the parking lot by our friendly feline host, who walked us up to the porch where an envelope with information about the inn and our key was awaiting us.

The inside of the inn has a rustic, log cabin feel with wooden panels along the walls. A blazing fireplace with a Harpers Ferry 1855 musket hangs above it. Antietam Overlook Farm is definitely a historian's get-a-way, as historical books about the battle and the Civil War were stacked in various places in the great room as well as our bedroom. A friendly and talkative parrot welcomed us into the warm, sitting room, and we were delighted that the inn itself was very "hands off" and gave guests the freedom to walk around, wander, and explore on their own with comfort.

My husband and I stayed in the Overlook room upstairs, which had a screened in porch and big windows that invited us to take in the breath-taking valley--now budding with springtime--below. With a soaking tub in one corner, a writing table in another, and a queen-sized quilted bed, we felt luxury and began to relax right away. A large fireplace with a built-in bookcase around it is the focal point of the room, and a plush love seat, wing-backed, upholstered chair, and coffee table surround it so that couples can enjoy the fireplace, a cup of coffee, and a conversation in comfort.

Each morning, we enjoyed the independence of getting our own coffee at a little bar tucked underneath the eaves in the front hallway before breakfast was offered at 9am. In the evenings, tea and red wine was available as well. Breakfast was served in a kitchen-like room off of the sitting room at two large tables that seated six and four guests and a double sided fireplace against a brick wall brought a rustic and historical feel to the breakfast room. Breakfast was delicious and different both mornings we stayed. The first morning, we enjoyed Greek yogurt served with blueberries and granola along with our choice of orange juice, cranberry juice, or cran-grape juice. The second morning, we started off with a cinnamon baked pear drenched in heavy cream and sprinkled with craisons. We were blown away with the exceptional flavor of this course! Breakfast included a second round both mornings that was very hearty. The first morning we had scrambled eggs, sausage, stuffing, and an English muffin that cold be topped with fresh butter and the choice of an assortment of scrumptious jams. The second morning we had scrambled eggs, banana pancakes, bacon, and empanadas. Both mornings we were given the option to have a dessert course too! Pecan pie or cheese cake were the choices. The pecan pie, which I ate both mornings, had a soft dense filling and a flavorful, crunchy top with candied pecans and a dab or whipped cream on the side. The service was pleasant and favorable. We left the breakfast table with bellies full for our adventure-filled days of exploring the battlefield.

Antietam Overlook Farm is about ten minutes from the town of Sharpsburg and the Visitor's Center at Antietam National Battlefield.

A few minor comments for improvements would be to double check the lighting fixture's functionality above the soaking tub, providing guests with bathrobes during their stay, adding a TV to the bedroom, labeling the trashcan at the wet bar area in the downstairs hallway, and considering adding a porch swing on the property or on the adjoining porch. The porch attached to the Overlook room appears to have two sections, and another idea that would draw guests and add to the value and luxury of the stay would be to include an outdoor hot tub to the second section of the screened-in porch.

Overall, this is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at and is definitely one of the top 10 in the state and surrounding areas. There is no doubt in our minds that Antietam Overlook Farm has earned its ranking with the other best B&B's of the Select Registry members. We will return soon, because this was an exceptional place to stay that surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews