We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn and Old Fashioned Motor Inn”
Review of Casselman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casselman Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grantsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were on our way on I-70 headed to Baltimore. Choice was to spend $100 at Comfort Inn or $53 at Casselman. Great decision. The Casselman Inn and Motor Inn has a unique history, especially the Inn, or main house. I enjoyed reading about its past and liked being a part of its present. There are two seperate buildings. We stayed in the motor inn and were very pleased with the quality of the hotel and the price. It is off the highway and was very quiet.

The room was decorated in an old style with bedspreads that looked like quilts and pine wood furniture. The lamps were nice also. Very clean. It was nice and cool so we walked up the the corner store. Very quiet town. There are no major amenities but none were expected.

We ate in the dining room at the Inn. The prices were very reasonable and the food was good. In all it was a good visit and very fairly priced. The only negative was checking in at 8:30 p.m. seemed to bother the girl at the counter. Not a real warm and welcoming personality. Maybe she was working in the kitchen also.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Casselman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

On a recent motorcycle trip, our group chose to meet in Grantsville, MD due to it's central location for rides arriving from Michigan & New York. Access to great motorcycling roads is painless. Our destination for the day was Seneca Rocks Recreation Area.

The Casselman Inn is an old school motel that was clean with no frills and the price reflected that. The bed was a little sway-backed but comfortable. The air conditioner worked just fine. We could park our motorcycles right outside the room door. The restaurant in the main hotel building is fantastic. The motel is in Amish country and the cooking reflects that tradition - very good food for reasonable prices. I'll go back.

Room Tip: our group had rooms 18, 19, 20 & 21 - not a bad room in that bunch
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prototypecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

My fiance and I met some friends from Baltimore at the Casselman. It was a good in between place for us to meet. The rooms were very clean and had a nice charm to them. There is not a lot of amenities, so if you want a fancy place, this is not it. There was a TV and 2 cute rocking chairs plus the bed and a desk. No mini fridge, but there was an ice machine down the hall. And when I asked about it, they seemed to think they would get fridges soon. The restaurant there was very good and staff was always pleasant and helpful. The town was also small and cute. We walked to a pizza place one night and also walked to the liquor store for some beer. I would definitely go again!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smullen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Simple, family run establishment. The room could use a little updating, but it was clean. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet at night. There is a family style restaurant, which is reasonably priced and very filling. Also - the most important for me, there is free WiFi.
The only problem (and it's minor) is that there was no bedside light. This meant I had to get out of bed, turn off the light, and find my way back to the bed with the light of the TV. Again, it's a minor complaint.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Bathroom sparkling clean, bed very comfortable, both of us got a good nights sleep. The two chairs in the room were stained -- and an odd smell but we got a candle at a nearby dollar store and that took care of it. Very quiet...microwave, mini fridge and flat screen TV. Not sure we would stay again...only one picture in room. Expensive for one night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustangsally_y2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantsville
3.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
112 reviews
23.2 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
19.6 km away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
26.3 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
301 reviews
21.9 km away
Yough Valley Motel
Yough Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Friendsville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casselman Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casselman Inn

Address: 113 Main St, Grantsville, MD 21536
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Grantsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grantsville
Price Range: ₹ 4,050 - ₹ 14,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casselman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casselman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing