We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bush Walk Bed & Breakfast Homestay
Ranked #1 of 1 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We were treated to tea and Christmas cake on arrival which was very welcome after cycling from Nelson. The accommodation was very comfortable and we enjoyed a lovely spread of fresh fruits and cereals for breakfast served on gorgeous stoneware plates and bowls made & decorated by our hosts. Sandra went the extra mile by making our lunch on day 2, as it was a public holiday and we were unsure if any cafes would be open en route as we cycled to Motueka.
A wonderful array of ceramics, art work & childrens' furniture are available for viewing and for sale in the detached art gallery. A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jaffa244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2015

As a frequent visitor to the Nelson region I have stayed here several times before, and the experience has been exceptional every time. Beautiful, quiet rooms and terrific food are things that you may also find elsewhere, but the hospitality displayed by Sandra and Bruce is truly amazing. It's like spending a day with friends. I'm already looking forward to my next visit...

Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Fantastic stay with lovely hosts. Highly recommended! One of the best nights sleep I had on my entire trip! Bruce and Sandra made me and my colleague feel most welcome and the dinner was excellent. Sitting out on the porch with a cold beer and swapping stories made us feel more like friends than hosts and guests.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tron2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

4 ageing Australian professional blokes on 2 week Mountain bike touring holiday needing some home comforts. Better than home! Great , very interesting place, with wonderful welcoming hosts.
No hesitation in highly recommending.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JimB-cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Bruce and Sandra, our hosts were so accommodating and friendly. The accommodation was luxurious and their hospitality was second to none.
Bruce and Sandra are talented artists and interesting people who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGWilson--potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bush Walk Bed & Breakfast Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Walk Bed & Breakfast Homestay

Address: 15 Hunt Terrace | Wakefield, Nelson, Wakefield 7025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Price Range: ₹ 6,454 - ₹ 7,382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARRIVE A STRANGER AND LEAVE AS A FRIEND. We offer a home away from home in Wakefield, a half hour drive from Nelson City. It is well situated for those who are travelling either north or south and those who want to explore the Nelson region. On arrival you enter a large courtyard with access to a pottery and wood workshop where Bruce will demonstrate how to make a pot on the wheel. Where else can you be offered a chance to make your own pot? My husband and I offer select Boutique accommodation and rent out two rooms in our own home. The house is in a secluded bush setting with an abundance of native birds. As we are locals, we deal with our guests directly giving valuable information of the region, and have escorted guests on boat trips to the Abel Tasman National Park. The rooms are: the Beech (king with private en-suite), which has access onto large wooden deck where guests can sit and relax and watch the native Wood Pigeon's and Tui's come down to bathe in the water bowl and the Totara room (queen-double with shared bathroom (bath only)). Both are named after the trees seen from each room. Although we are a 30 minute drive south of Nelson it is well worth the stay in our idyllic situation. Come and join Bruce and I in our piece of paradise. e. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bush Walk Bed & Breakfast Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing