We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tree House Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bush Walk Bed & Breakfast Homestay
Ranked #1 of 1 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our family of 5 stayed with Bruce and Sandra. We have three small girls it was perfect. Bruce makes children's furniture and the girls sat at a pink and purple table for breakfast, highlight of their holiday :)
There was never a dull moment Bruce and Sandra where great entertainers and chatting away all night. There local knowledge was priceless.
Thank for sharing your home.. Grapefruit was divine for breakfast :)

Room Tip: Tranquil stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Sandra and Bruce, the hosts of this B & B do everything to make guests feel comfortable. I had the feeling of coming home when I was invited to tea and home-baked cake by Sandra shortly after my arrival.
In addition to that, both of them always lend a sympathetic ear to their guests. They make suggestions of interesting places which can be visited nearby. They are also interested in getting to know more about their guests. Hence, they always take time to talk to you.
Sandra accompanied me on a hike and I was very happy about it because I was traveling alone. Bruce has a pottery. Therefore, he asked me whether I would like to try to do an own bowl with his support. He was a good teacher. Because of that, I was successful in doing my first bowl. It was a lot of fun.
These gestures of hospitality of Sandra and Bruce make their B & B peerless.
Of course, the three rooms they offer are tidy and clean. Furthermore, their house is located in a tranquil area of Wakefield.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very kind and helpfull hosts.
Nice and clean rooms.
Wonderfull breakfast.
Gave us lots of good advice about what was worth seeing i the neighbourhood.
Make excellent dinners.
We really felt that we arrived as strangers, but left as friends.
Bruce demonstrated how to make pots in a very illustrating way.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Niels Kristian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We biked into an unusually strong headwind from Mapua to Wakefield; we were knackered. Bruce kindly wheeled my bike up the steep drive, offering refreshing drinks.

Sandra and Bruce share their luxuriously comfortable lounge chairs and treat you very very well.

The bush and the dusk birdsong, together with their sharing of their home and their stories made for a memorable evening and I soon forgot my saddle soreness and fatigue.

RECOMMEND AS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY.

Sarndra F.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarndra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Lovely setting and people and great value too. Will be back thankyou when sport takes me back that way next year. A million percent better than a motel with garaging for my equipment too. Brilliant, interesting, peaceful...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bush Walk Bed & Breakfast Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Walk Bed & Breakfast Homestay

Address: 15 Hunt Terrace | Wakefield, Nelson, Wakefield 7025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Price Range: ₹ 6,435 - ₹ 7,407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARRIVE A STRANGER AND LEAVE AS A FRIEND. We offer a home away from home in Wakefield, a half hour drive from Nelson City. It is well situated for those who are travelling either north or south and those who want to explore the Nelson region. On arrival you enter a large courtyard with access to a pottery and wood workshop where Bruce will demonstrate how to make a pot on the wheel. Where else can you be offered a chance to make your own pot? My husband and I offer select Boutique accommodation and rent out two rooms in our own home. The house is in a secluded bush setting with an abundance of native birds. As we are locals, we deal with our guests directly giving valuable information of the region, and have escorted guests on boat trips to the Abel Tasman National Park. The rooms are: the Beech (king with private en-suite), which has access onto large wooden deck where guests can sit and relax and watch the native Wood Pigeon's and Tui's come down to bathe in the water bowl and the Totara room (queen-double with shared bathroom (bath only)). Both are named after the trees seen from each room. Although we are a 30 minute drive south of Nelson it is well worth the stay in our idyllic situation. Come and join Bruce and I in our piece of paradise. e. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bush Walk Bed & Breakfast Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing