We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay overall.....”
Review of Turf Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at Turf Valley for 6 nights in order to be near our friends living nearby in Ellicott City.
Our room was very spacious,clean and well decorated with quality fixtures and fittings. We had an average meal at the restaurant with our friends on the first night and then returned from a day trip on the second night to find that the restaurant was being stripped for renovations and would be out of action indefinitely. We were counting on eating there and would have appreciated some notice from management. A sign in the lobby or a letter to the room would have been appreciated.
We also woke one morning to a group of men outside our window replacing the guttering on the roof. They worked with grinders and power equipment all day and didn't leave until after dark. I understand that hotels need to do maintenance work during low season but these two events did colour our stay.
Management was very receptive to our comments and did reduce our bill on the last day.
The resort seems to be very well run and I'm sure the new restaurant will be fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course if possible. The 6th floor was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

Here with a group of about 30. The main restaurant was under construction but since most of our meals were in a private dining room that didn't matter. Food was good, service was not obtrusive, and we got a great rate for everything. Plenty of conference facilities. Everything ran very smoothly.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Same venue, different year! This is our second year celebrating the New Years at Turf Valley.

And we have every intention to do it again to ring in 2013! Why...

Beautiful venue. Awesome & Fun Band (Klassix). Great service (booking the tickets and table, front desk, catering staff). Generous amount of appetizers at event (delicious too). Best value all around (room, event, breakfast).

THANKS TURF VALLEY

Room Tip: Recently renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GO_RAVENS_GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

it was our first time here but second year for our conference at this location. hotel was very clean everywhere we went; meeting rooms, lobby, rooms, etc. the keurig in the room was a nice feature but there was only 1 kind of tea available (will bring my selections if returning). we had a standard guest room which was adequate for our needs. every staff member we encountered was friendly. the food for lunch & dinner for the conference was good. overall, i would recommend this place to friends & those needing a nice place for a cenference.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjhdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We live in Virginia and our big fans of the beautiful wine yards. We had no idea MD even had any. We booked this package for a weekend getaway and experience Black Ankle. The value of this package is excellent. For less than $300 we got a very nice room, tour of Black Ankle, a bottle of wine, and two meals at the restaurant. (Turf Valley provided the van trip - driver "Tim" was a charm)

We highly recommend this package, however advise everyone to explore other restaurants and honestly prefer not to eat there again. Dinner was borderline OK (their was a new menu - but food took a very long time and did not taste great) and breakfast was not satisfactory to any level (horrible buffet presentation)

We will be back in the Spring to visit Black Ankle again. Our plans will probably be booking the same room and visiting the Spa and playing golf. THANKS

Room Tip: Call hotel directly. Very friendly and accommodating concierge team. Book a junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Mrs_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abushtv, Manager at Turf Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you so much for your review. The Black Ankle Winery Tour Package is one of our most popular getaways and I'm very glad you enjoyed it! I have shared your concerns about the restaurant with the appropriate staff - thank you for that feedback.

We look forward to having you back again - since you want to include the Golf & Spa experience during your next stay, I recommend you ask about our Couple's Golf & Spa Overnight Getaway Package when you are ready to book.

Again, thank you for your review. Please feel free to contact me at visitus@turfvalley.com if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Thank you,
Andrea Bush
eCommerce Manager
Turf Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
9.0 km away
Residence Inn Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
136 reviews
9.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
9.2 km away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
13.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turf Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort

Address: 2700 Turf Valley Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21042-2047 (Formerly Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range: ₹ 7,956 - ₹ 13,583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Turf Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing