We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service AAA+++ and BBQ Food”
Review of Mission BBQ

Mission BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Kudos to Mission BBQ in Ellicott City MD. What a great place with super friendly staff and management. This day they honored Veterans and Mitary with a Free Sandwich and a beautiful cake. Great Pulled Pork, Beef Brisket and Fries. Always great and generous portions. Will be back! Thank you!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Eileen123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

The food, service and atmosphere are worthy of return trips, but a troubling, recurring thing deserves mention. This is a Texas barbecue restaurant and, as such, smoked meats must have a smoky flavor. To often at places with gas-assisted smokers, such as Mission, the staff relies too much on the gas and not enough on the wood, resulting in baked meat, void of the desired smokiness. This should never happen, but I've has "smokeless" brisket and ribs more than once at two Mission locations, Elliott City and Columbia. C'mon guys, there's nothing more important than getting the meat right. Anybody taking shortcuts or being lazy about the meat should be sent looking for a different career.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank jimsL5470NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

I don't know what the appeal is with Mission BBQ. Been only twice, two different locations - same result - mediocre BBQ. Price is ok. Urban BBQ was much better - but now they are closed in Ellicott City (why?)

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank jrzj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

My family and I stumbled upon Mission Barbecue in Ellicott City Maryland and had truly one of the most wonderful surprises we have ever had! My daughter was due to report to the Naval Academy the next morning and was craving classic American barbecue. Dave and the rest of the staff did not disappoint! The brisket, pulled chicken, turkey, and jalapeño cheddar sausage were all extraordinary! Nothing however, compared to the hospitality and the true honor given to veterans and servicemembers at Mission Barbecue. Thank you to Dave and the whole staff, we will be back for sure!
Sincerely,
BIll, Tracey, and Sarah

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank tbryser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

The family had dinner at Mission Saturday evening. We ate a variety of foods; 5 bone baby back ribs, turkey, ranch steak, pulled pork, macaroni & cheese, baked beans, baked sweet potatoes, corn bread, and blueberry cobblers.

The food was very tasty, and portions were generous. There was plenty of meat on the ribs (a pet peeve of mine), and the ranch steak was large enough for two meals for the wife. The sweet potatoes were large enough for two servings. The cornbread was thick and moist. And we had extra blueberry cobblers because we were so full from our meals.

Very fast service in a clean and friendly environment. Plenty of free parking right outside the door.

Five stars for this meal.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank SAinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mission BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Mission BBQ? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing