We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price I paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Elkton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I bought this as a Living Social deal, so the price was about half of what you'd normally pay. The inn is in a lovely setting, though a little run down looking. The room was clean & comfortable, but nothing to rave about. The area is very "truck-stoppy", with not much to do unless you're willing to travel. The little town nearby (5 miles) was more geared towards college kids than adults away on a romantic weekend. We went to Lancaster for the day which was nice, but it's 50 miles each way.

We woke up on our first day there & decided to skip the breakfast - it's served from 7-8:30 and we were on vacation! We left our room at 11:30 for the day, and were disappointed upon our return to find that the room had not been made up. Someone had been in our room, because it was left unlocked, but the bed wasn't made & the overflowing trash can (the only one in the room) hadn't been emptied. When we picked up the house phone to ask for ice, the person who answered (after about 15 rings) told me that there was nobody currently on site & we could help ourselves to ice from the kitchen. Fine, but a little weird.

We made ourselves get up for breakfast the second day, and were a little disappointed at the offerings. Food was good (not great), but selection was a bit limited.

Everything about this place was "average", nothing made us go "wow". Overall we had a nice time, but I'm glad I didn't pay full price for the stay. I would've been disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Perhaps we arrived at the wrong time. The owner's son was married the day after our arrival at the inn, but our experience was not positive. On arrival we had to hunt someone up to give us our key. Our room, the Pennsylvania Room, had a very comfortable bed, but the ceiling was peeling off in the bathroom.
The next morning breakfast was served at 8:30, but I would hardly call it a full breakfast - a tiny cup of bread pudding and a slice of quiche with (I kid you not) one raspberry, a thin slice of honeydew melon which was not ripe and a small ball of cantalope. Since I cannot eat eggs, I asked for a slice of bacon or ham in place of the quiche and the server said she'd see what she could do about that. I'm still waiting.
All through the two days of our stay that staff was virtually non-existent and the physical plant was in sad repair. It could be a lovely setting, but with the gardens sporting dead plants and lawn chairs left overturned until they practically root, it isn't now.

Room Tip: Stay at the Comfort Inn nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank townhistorian06754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great place in an area with lots to see and do. Breakfast is heartier with eggs, potatoes and bacon in interesting recipes. Did not have enought time to take advantage of the spa services, hopefully next visit. Did see people enjoying "tea" in the afternoon and it looked delicious. There is also a shop with a wide variety of tea to purchase along with books, china and cut glass to bring back pleasant memories of your wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have sloped ceilings - might not be good for very tall people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I bought a deal on living social to stay at Elk Forge- and so glad we did. The manager was more than helpful when I called to ask if I could hold a room until my coupon came through Living Social- he looked it up for me no problem and booked the room. Place was very cute- room was nice. On-site spa definitely a plus! Breakfast was good both mornings- location was excellent with lots to do in surrounding areas. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 897lisac897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Elk Forge and it was a very pleasant stay. The staff were great and the room was gorgeous. Will definitely return in the near future!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkton hotels
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
2.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Days Inn Elkton Newark Area
6.6 km away
Sutton Inn
Sutton Inn
#2 of 3 in Elkton
33 reviews
2.8 km away
Elkton Lodge
Elkton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Elkton
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa

Address: 807 Elk Mills Road, Elkton, MD 21921
Region: United States > Maryland > Elkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elkton
Price Range: ₹ 8,360 - ₹ 17,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Colonial Manor House with each room and suite individually decorated. Warm charm, relaxing setting, wonderful free breakfasts and a Day Spa on the property in case you would like a massage, facial or other spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Forge Bed And Breakfast Inn, Retreat And Day Spa
Elk Forge b&b Inn, Retreat And Day Hotel Elkton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing