We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bruce House Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 124
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland(Cumberland)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
US$ 80
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cumberland Inn and Spa(Cumberland)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 152
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 93
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 60
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 95
US$ 69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
116
17
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
17
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashington roomthird floorcookieseggs benedicttop floornext morningother guestsb bsfilling breakfastcentral aircan't remember her nameeach morningshort walksafe placeallegheny passagecommon roombike trail
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We were so pleasantly surprised with the Bruce House. We stayed in the Monk's Room on the third floor and everything was just as pictured. The bed was so comfortable my husband slept 13 hours straight! There are church bells that start at 6 a.m. but the comfort of the bed draws you back to sleep. It was quiet otherwise. The bathtub is wonderful, the shower is a little low but nothing can be done about that as it is as high as it can be. The stairs are not steep, there are several flights but it's an easy climb. The breakfast was excellent. Nothing about this stay disappointed us. We plan on coming again and bringing our family. Pam offered to store our bikes for us, but the neighborhood seemed quite safe so we left them on the car. There are touches all around that really make the room special.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whisperingnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My third trip to the Inn in 3 years. First trip on my own--one night. Second with my fiance' for his birthday--one night. Third time with fiance', still a birthday trip, but for two nights. Each visit has been better than the last.

This time, we were on the top floor (last year in the ground level suite).Our niece had ordered the birthday boy a bottle of bubbly which was beautifully presented in our room upon check in. Pam pulled out all the stops for us; she is the perfect host--always there when you need her, never intrusive.

During our stay, we enjoyed the peace and quiet, fluffy terry robes, exquisite toiletries and linens along with gourmet-quality breakfasts. The night before we had to go, we enjoyed a lovely wine and appetizer board along with a chat with our charming host Pam. I highly reccommend the Bruce House Inn for anyone desiring a quiet and gracious ambience.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms may present an issue, if stair-climbing is difficult (we didn't mind!). Loved our top floor room! We have also stayed in the Robert Bruce suite which is luxurious, peaceful and on the ground floor. Noise has never been an issue whichever room we've chosen.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luckytraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This was our first B&B experience so we were a little hesitant at first but we were overall pleased with our decision to stay. The Inn was very easy to find with easy access to the interstate. Lots of restaurant choices nearby. Pam, the innkeep, was very nice and willing to answer questions but did not hover. We stayed on the second floor in the George Washington room. The room and attached bathroom were very clean and well appointed. We missed the cheese and wine Pam served in the evening but warm cookies were waiting in our room for us later that night. Pam also prepared a beautiful two course breakfast the next morning. My only disappointment was being awakened early by church bells and by the people in the Monk's Room above us that were checking out early. They sounded like a herd of cattle. With it being an old house you won't find the insulation or sound barrier as you would a modern hotel. Overall it was a great choice and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The hostess was very accommodating in every way. We arrived after check in deadline because severe weather and traffic collisions had jammed the interstate, but she was very forgiving and extremely gracious about dragging her out so late to check us in. We asked if the two single beds could be joined as a king, and that was done with no problem.

The building is over 170 years old, and retains the charm of a 19th century home, with high ceilings, wide stairs, hardwood floors, plaster walls and brick exterior. It was built by descendants of Robert the Bruce (1st King of Scotland, in case you’ve never seen Braveheart) and was used to house nuns and priests who taught at the LaSalle High School that was once across the street.

However, it has central air, modern, private baths, cable TV and free Wi-Fi access as well as large, comfortable rooms. The breakfasts were exquisite both mornings we were there. This was only the 3rd time we stayed in a B&B, but it was by far the best of the 3. If you need a place in downtown Cumberland, I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Our favorite was "La Salle de Frere", but be aware, it is on the 3rd floor, so you have to walk up 2 flights to get there.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This inn is everything that you could ever want in a bed and breakfast. The entire place was clean and well-kept, the rooms were comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. We experienced the same thing as several other posters here regarding the attention of Pam, the innkeeper. She was very helpful and willing to chat with us when we checked in. She is very knowledgeable about the area and gave us great advice about dinner. We always felt as though she was there if we needed her, but she did not hover. Cumberland is a quaint and beautiful little town, and this is the perfect place to stay when visiting. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank derijr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews