We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
210
133
20
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
210
133
20
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool table electric blankets hill overlooking hill top excellent view pine trees indoor games homely food caring staff relaxing stay board games approach road surrounding hills beautiful place maintained garden beautiful experience personal touch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2020

Resort is located very close to the Sattal lake and has an amazing view of the hills and the lake. It is away from the madding crowd but close enough to enjoy the cute cafes in the town.

The food is homely and delicious with a wide variety of cuisines. The hosts are extremely hospitable and staff is very congenial.

Highly recommend staying here for atleast 2-3 days!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 1993MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2020

This is an awesome place. Probably one of the best as per location in Kumaon and being so close to the foothills. It relaxes your soul from deep inside in every possible way - the view of the lake, the greenery all around, the chirping of the birds, the smell of the Pine trees, the sunlight and well-ventialted rooms with balconies or terrace where you feel like having a sip of tea at any time. You would love to meditate, perform yoga or just sit down and soak in the atmosphere. Monsoon/ Post monsoon period just adds to everything.

Till June, the resort was leased out to V Resorts who simply did not care for it at all. The resort had deteriorated a lot but thanks to the original owner Usha ji, she took it back in her hands since July and a lot of renovation/ cleaning work has been done.

This was probably my 8th stay at the place, the last one being more than 3 years back when I was a bit disappointed with the upkeep of the resort. However, this place has never disappointed me and it's getting better now. If you want a feast for your eyes and rejuvenate your soul, go here without a second thought. Stay for at least 3 to 4 nights for a proper relaxing holiday.

Travel Time from Delhi - 7 hours non-stop; 8 hours with a food break.
Travel Time from Kathgodam - 30 mins only

Room tip: The rooms in DEODAR cottage have a big combined terrace. The rooms in TARUVAR cottage have balconies with amazing views of the lake
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnandVaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Upender, Owner at Sattal Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Dear Anand, Thank you for your kind words. You have been with the Resort for the longest time and are best positioned to appreciate the upgrade and care the Resort has received. We look forfard to your continued patronage of the Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

The Resort is being managed by the Owners itself. This makes it much better than most other resorts this size. The location is absolutely lovely and quaint. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The resort has something for all age groups. There are plenty of activities within and around the Resort! We went boating at the Sattal lake, played badminton at the resort and enjoyed some amazing meals made by the in-house chef.

I would definitely recommend this place for a vacation, whether you are with friends or family!!

Room tip: They have rooms with lake views and rooms with a great foresty-vibe! You can chose if you book timely!
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AsthaGarg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2019

parents enjoyed. Kids were close to nature. Stargazing. lake visits. Trekking. Fishing. all that we could do we did all. All came back happy with lots of memories. If given a chance we will visit again.

Date of stay: March 2019
2  Thank 577abhaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2019

The booking office does not know the status of the resort. The booking office is not in the location of the resort. The booking office is a call center just doing the sales.
The resort was unhygienic and unclean. We had cockroaches on the bed. We had broken chairs and hair all around the room. The pine view room has no space around the beds. You get off the bed and get into the bathroom or you go outside the room.
We had booked two rooms and both of them had fungus and mold on the furniture. Beds were equally dirty with stains under the bed spreads. Complimentary Wi-Fi never worked, Welcome fruit bowl never happened, Welcome drink never happened.
The resort is isolated and there no facilities. Ofcourse no swimming pool, the billiards / pool tables were broken, the carom boards were warped, coins missing, no bicycles as shown in the advt during the booking.

Any emergencies the closest hospital is round 15 to 20 KM's. No parking facilities. The lake view room is a view where you can see the lake as a spec of water in the distance.

Food was good but way too costly. Costs were equivalent to a 4 star resort.
Even before the official checkout, they asked us to vacate rooms to accommodate another guest. Our stay was unpleasant full of troubles.

Attached are pics of the broken chairs and the hairs in the lake view room, By the way I tried to describe the issues to the manager and he said he does not care.

Sent them multiply emails and made multiple calls but never had a positive response and never did they call back

Room tip: Lake view rooms are good because of the balcony but you are not close to the Lake
Date of stay: May 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sajumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Upender, Owner at Sattal Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2020

Dear Guest,
It is really unfortunate that you had this experience when the property was being managed by V Resorts. As we noticed adverse reviews like yours, we took steps to take over the management of the Resort. Sattal Forest Resort is now fully restored to its original glory, its friendliness and the personal touch it was remembered for by our guests . The Resort is now being run by the promoters and you are most unlikely to face any hygiene or maintenance issues that you experienced last year. Do please visit us again. We are fully operational with all protection recommended in Corona times. We will reply to all your queries and rest assured, your feedback is of utmost importance to us. Pl feel free to write to us .
Usha Upender
Promoter
Sattal Forest Resort
sattalforestresort@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews