We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Maryland steamed Crabs”

Captain Trey's Crabs & Seafood
Ranked #23 of 102 Restaurants in Cockeysville
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We have been coming here for years to supply our end of summer family get together. The crabs are always excellent and this year they were really heavy as well as tasty. Maryland crabs only , the best.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leccvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck J, Manager at Captain Trey's Crabs & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thanks for sharing! It really is the best time of the year for some Maryland Crabs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

For an in-home tailgate, got the Shrimp & Wings family meal and sides of fried oysters and onion rings. All were excellent and delicious. Jumbo shrimp were coated with a little too much Old Bay, so a quick rinse in the colander got them to the perfect seasoning level. Fried oysters were large, juicy and fried just right. Especially liked the Sweet& Tangy sauce on the wings. All in all a great accompaniment to a football game at home.

Thank MrSpiceMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck J, Manager at Captain Trey's Crabs & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

I'm glad it all worked out. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! It means a lot to our hard working crew to hear positive feedback. We have no problem adjusting things like extra spice, or light spice, or even no spice on crabs and shrimp. Whatever you prefer, just let us know when you place the order and it will be done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We got crabs here for our anniversary and they were fantastic as always! Everyone once in awhile we buy from somewhere else and are ALWAYS disappointed. Order ahead and they are hot and ready to go. They don't have sit down service, this is take away.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mdgipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck J, Manager at Captain Trey's Crabs & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for being a regular customer. That's what we aim for. Crabs are always up and down through the year. When they're down and there are a lot of light crabs around we do our best to pull them out. We want our customers happy and for them to keep coming back even if it costs us more money once in a while.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

I have never been disappointed with the crabs. They make their own crab seasoning which is delicious. During the season they offer corn on the cob which they steam with the crabs, super yum. Their other seafood offerings are equally as good.

1  Thank KimParkton_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Apparently, the thing to get here is the platter. You can't go wrong with this platter!! Crab cakes is the thing in the area and Trey's doesn't disappoint! Some of the others got the crab cake sandwich and loved it. They had to be right because the same type of crab cake was in my platter and it was delicious! Everything in my platter was on point. Be advised that this place is takeout only, I would have been fine enjoying this outside in their steps.

Thank GTXC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck J, Manager at Captain Trey's Crabs & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

I'm glad it all worked out and thanks for sharing! We really wish we could do more sit down and it's possible it will happen one day. It's just a lot of red tape to deal with if we do one day. For now we only have picnic tables in the back. I know it's not much but it's something :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Trey's Crabs & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Captain Trey's Crabs & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing