We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint-Bonnet-Troncais, Allier, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
gwallnar
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquil Apartment”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This unpretentious, large and airy lakeside apartment is comfortably furnished in traditional French style and is situated in the very heart of the Troncais forest. Despite the remote location, it is readily accessible by good metalled roads with restaurants within walking distance and supermarkets only a few miles away by car. The local lakes are popular with anglers and the apartment is an ideal fishing base, a permit is required. As a retired couple we stayed 4 weeks at the property in June/July 2016 with the aim of relaxing, enjoying the rural ambience and exploring the local villages. We were not disappointed.
We particularly enjoyed the stunning views across the lake with its ever changing reflections and colours. We spent hours, with binoculars to hand, as the resident family of herons fished in the shallows, swallows swirled above and the many woodland birds and butterflies flittered along the bankside. Large carp came to snuffle along the shallows below the balcony and every evening a family of copyu criss-crossed the lake as they foraged. We also enjoyed walking along the numerous rough forestry tracks and waymarked woodland paths though we met scarsely another soul along them in our entire stay.
Our English hosts, John and Angie, were particularly welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to involve us in local events.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil Environment, Friendly Hosts
Liked least: Nothing significant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you both for your kind comments and it was a pleasure to meet you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George G
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Comfortable apartment with magnificent views of the lake & Troncais Forrest. Excellent facilities & wonderful hosts
Would certainly recommend & hope to visit again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for your excellent review ! was a pleasure to meet you all with such knowledge and dedicated fishermen -- glad you enjoyed the area( caught some big fish ! ) and we look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brucesrob...
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our plan was to immerse ourselves in the true France. This was achieved! John and Angie are wonderful hosts; and thank goodness for us! Without their French language skills we would still be lost.
The apartment is as described; sitting right on a fishing lake. It was a beautiful setting.
We enjoyed a wonderful holiday and did some great exploring - the rental car was essential.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thank you so much and a wonderful pleasure to meet such lovely people.Hope to meet again one day.,!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise R
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Escape”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had no idea where we were going or where we would end up. It was bliss. Ange met us at St Amand Montrond Orval, took us to get our supplies (supermarket) and delivered us to our accommodation. The photos do not lie, the house does sit on the Etang de Troncais, right on the water. It was quaint and just what we thought it would be. Ange made sure we had everything we needed and offered transport to the nearest town to collect a rental car and kept in touch to make sure we were ok. It was quiet, restful and offered us a much needed break. It is a fishing lake and we saw many large fish jumping; swallows feeding before their long migratory flight and people trying hard to land a carp. The village is small with a cafe and hotel. The forest is on your doorstep in every direction. Would we recommend? Yes, definitely. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed for two weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness
Liked least: Roadworks going on up the road - but they will be finished now.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for the very positive review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay and with the weather being good.
Lovely having 'lovely' people to stay and hope to meet again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyBos...
Silfiac, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a great place to stay !”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I really hope you book the maison d`etang, because I would like you to have as great a time on holiday as we did. It was a fantastic location and a real home from home. Seeing wildlife from the wrap around balcony, lounge, kitchen and bedroom was a real treat. If you want to unwind in a peaceful and tranquil location you wont find a better place. The owners were really friendly and helpful, there was plenty of things to do, and bars and restaurants are local. It is well situated to explore the area or you could just stay local and enjoy the 11000HA forest of Troncais. You can expect a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tranquility and location
Liked least: only stayed 1 week
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for your 'complimentary comments ', and really pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely area.
Hope to welcome you again, anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing