We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Bead and Breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chestertown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simply Bed and Bread
Ranked #3 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in: spotlessly clean, attentive and considerate hosts conscious of your every need, located in the historic district and nicely renovated, beautifully and thoughtfully furnished (antique quilts on your bed!), wonderful home-cooked breakfast, no potpourri or any other scents - thank heavens! Air-conditioned which, in this area, is a must. One of the rooms even comes with a library stocked with many books from Agatha Christie to Winston Churchill, among many others. Within easy walking distance to a great little restaurant - the Lemon Leaf. I'd recommend this to anyone and will not stay anywhere else whenever I come back to Chestertown.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTravellerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

My sister had given my husband and I a two-night stay at Simply Bed and Bread as a gift. In trying to determine a way to celebrate my birthday week, we decided a trip to Chestertown and this B&B would be a fun, relaxing break. We were so right (we are often not!! ). Simply Bed and Bread is warm,inviting and "homey". We loved our stay! We loved the house, our room, our hosts (and helper, Debbie)...There is nothing but good to say,..thanks for all the "special" Cheryl and David!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micaela416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

On a visit to Chestertown from Baltimore to see a concert, I found this B&B when my mom suggested it. Upon calling, I found that Cheryl, the owner, finds out the likes and favorites of her guests so that she can bake cookies for their arrivals, and so the breakfast she creates is something that they will like. The rooms were her now-grown daughters' rooms, and they are beautiful decorated in white with touches of color and books all around. Comfortable and welcoming, the rooms held many surprises like a widescreen TV, a hidden fridge and a plethora of welcoming notes explaining everything down to the Butler's Pantry (in case you've forgotten anything, of course). Her food is divine, and she tries to decorate your rooms to match the reason you are in Chestertown. Right next to Washington College campus, the B&B was close enough to 'downtown', that we were able to walk wherever we went that evening. Simply Bed & Bread made 'coming back' to Chestertown a wonderful, homey experience! Not only was Cheryl welcoming and wonderful to talk with and catch up with about all things Chestertown, her husband was a wonderful conversationalist, keeping us all enthralled, and participating in a conversation over breakfast that spanned politics, basektball, running, Chestertown, and grandkids. A warning. Tell Cheryl if you don't eat a lot for breakfast. She LOVES what she does. For breakfast, her wonderful sub, Nancy, served us a crustless cheese and jalapeno quiche, homebaked (that morning) cinnnamon buns, fruit salad topped with sherbet, homemade toast with homemade lemon curd, corn pancakes, sausages, and, of course, coffees and juices of our choice. AND, she left us a bag of paper thin sugar cookies that were OUT OF THIS WORLD to take home with us!

Room Tip: There is no bad room. Both room choices are terrific. Emily's room has the California King!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newfish143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I were in Chestertown for a friends art opening. We found this B&B on Travel Advisor. The location is a ten minute walk from downtown on a quiet residential street. The room was well appointed with a flat screen TV (the remote is hidden in a hat box). Cheryl greets her guest with freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Breakfast is almost cruise proportions with cinnamon buns as big as my head. If you don't have any friends in Chestertown you will have one in Cheryl after three minutes. If life takes you to Chesertown take yourself to Simply Bed abd Bread.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobby400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I stayed Saturday night at Simply Bed & Bread while we were visiting our daughter at Washington College. When we had made reservations, Cheryl asked me what our favority cookies are, and she had just-baked chocolate chip cookies waiting for us when we arrived. David and Cheryl are wonderful, thoughtful hosts, making you feel so welcome in their B&B. They even asked if our daughter would like to come and join us for breakfast, even though she wasn't staying with them. The room was immaculate, attractive, roomy and comfortable, and the location is just off the campus of Washington College on a very quiet street. Breakfast was excellent - a delicious spinach and cheese omelet, fresh fruit and homemade cinnamon buns. Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer. As other reviewers noted, there's absolutely nothing we would change. Thanks, David and Cheryl!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MD3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chestertown hotels
1.6 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
122 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
2.3 km away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 km away
The Inn at Mitchell House
The Inn at Mitchell House
#4 of 11 in Chestertown
76 reviews
13.1 km away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
380 reviews
0.3 km away
John Stam House
John Stam House
#5 of 11 in Chestertown
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Bed and Bread? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Bed and Bread

Address: 208 Mount Vernon Ave, Chestertown, MD 21620-1324
Region: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: ₹ 6,363 - ₹ 8,934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think home-y, not hotel.Think character, not cookie-cutter.Think individualized, not generic.Think fresh, not frou-frou.Think stocking feet, not stuffy.Think friendly, not formal.Private. Yet personal.2 cozy, spacious, allergy-friendly upstairs rooms in a 1947 Cape Cod on a quiet street 100 yards from Washington College. Close to the hospital, Heron Point, historic downtown and the waterfront. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing