We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast by a chef!”
Review of Inn at the Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at the Canal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

If you want a relaxing weekend and want to be in walking distance to everything, try the Inn at the Canal in Chesapeake City, MD. The little town has charming shops and excellent restaurants. The rooms in the old Victorian hotel are lovely and the owners are very hospitable. Best of all is having a breakfast by chef Bob, the owner. I must have a gluten free meal and that often leads to a poor breakfast but it was no challenge to Bob. He whipped upgreat French toast and my husband has a delicious breakfast too. Stop by and stay at this Victorian gem.

Room Tip: Chesapeake Haven has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wesoGarnetvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at the inn between Christmas and New Year's Day. We loved Chesapeake City, and the inn is charming with great views, it was clean and the breakfasts were good. However, we were disappointed with the lack of other amenities, such as no coffee, hot water or other drinks or snacks available for the three in our party when we returned to the inn in the late afternoon. In addition, the breakfast room was very cold when we came down for breakfast on the morning it was just the three of us at the inn. It just wasn't the warm, cozy experience we expected.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Traveled to Chesapeake city for a class reunion. Due to wedding in town the options where limited. Very nice Victorian era building service was reminisant of the Philadelphia area. Seeing as how the owners hail from there. And there in is the difference between our accomadations and the service all over the rest of town. Love love love Chesapeake city cause of the country charm and and politeness of the people. The folks at the inn where great. The room was great. View not so much. We where in a room that over looked a roof. It was the little things that where missing. Like complimentary bottles of water. Or a coffee pot that guest might be able to use. K cup machine would be a nice touch. Have stayed at others in town and had full access to the kitchen and its tools for the little things at night that make it fell like home. Would I return to the inn? Yes. But afraid it wouldn't be my first choice...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raikowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesailorbob, Owner at Inn at the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

So sorry things were not perfect for you. We are glad you liked the room, we only wish all of our rooms had the wonderful views that most of them have (2 do not), however we are happy to have available to our guest our 70' long side porch with a tremendous view of the Canal and Back Creek basin, unlike other B & B's in town that have no views at all. Not sure what happened with the coffee, we have fresh coffee available to our guests on our buffet in the dining room everyday and even have early morning coffee available. We also stock the fridge in the dining room with bottled water for our guests, we stopped putting the water in the guest rooms because it would be room temperature and not very refreshing. We make every attempt to inform all of our guests as to all that is available to them on their stay but I'm sure sometimes we miss something. It seems that our rare complaint is something that is a preference of our guests not brought to our attention. I assure you if there is a concern we are made aware of during a visit we WILL correct it 100% of the time while they are here. We also urge our guest to visit our web site for detailed pictures of the rooms with additional picture of what the views from the rooms look like. We would never put a guest in a room without a view if it is requested when the guest makes their reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We went for our 20th wedding anniversary. The Virginia earthquake occured as we were on Rt 301 in the car, so we knew nothing of it until the Innkeeper asked us how we felt about the quake? What Quake? We had noticed the car moved side to side briefly but thought it was the roadway. Great start to an anniversary.

Bob (Innkeeper) answered the push of the door bell and welcomed us to the Inn. Showed us around and explained the layout of the Inn. Our room is the one you access through the kitchen and is above his office. Great view of the Canal. Very comfortable and clean. Bob provides iced tea and pastry during the day and we enjoyed the tea while sitting on the porch facing the canal. Very restful location.

We had to leave early due to a medical situation and Bob was very helpful directing us to a local Medical Center where treatment was obtained.

We will go again to finish our anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

What a great weekend we had in Chesapeake City and at The Inn At The Canal. Bob and Carol made us feel like we were their personal guests. We stayed at their inn for 3 nights. Their beautiful historic victorian inn makes one feel like you have gone back in time. Our room (Chesapeake Haven" was spotless and very comfortable. My wife thought it was so neat to have to use a step stool to get into bed. Each morning when we stepped out of our room into the hallway we could smell Bob's wonderful gourmet breakfast cooking. Our compliments to the chef!! We had pictured Chesapeake city being overrun with tourist, but what a surprise to find that there are only 700 residents there. The old shops and old homes have been preserved and make for a wonderful experience. The boat tour with Capt. Ralph is a must to do. He is 5th generation skipper and knows his history of Chesapeake City. We will return again, as this is a place where you can cast your troubles aside and just relax and unwind. Thanks so much Bob and Carol.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake City
12.0 km away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#1 of 8 in Elkton
348 reviews
11.0 km away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 1 in Middletown
326 reviews
12.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
19.8 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
276 reviews
17.9 km away
Best Western North East Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Canal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Canal

Address: 104 Bohemia Ave, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Price Range: ₹ 7,460 - ₹ 8,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Canal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and comfortable rooms filled with antiques in this Victorian Gothic circa 1874 home on the Historic Register. Gourmet breakfasts by owner/chef,C.I.A. Grad. Waterfront views of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal, quaint town of shops, art and restaurants, and short drive to many desirable sites from Philadelphia to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing