We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Prices, Bad Food”

High Spot Gastropub
Reserve with OpenTable
High Spot Gastropub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 59 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Poplar Street
Description: Friendly gastropub serving local foods creatively prepared by Chef Patrick Fanning. Nice craft brew selection. Plus sidewalk seating.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable Prices, Bad Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We went to the High Spot while staying at the Hyatt with a group of friends. The ideas behind the dishes are good, but execution fails. The salads should be called soups due to the amount of dressing they have, the curried roasted vegetables had little or no curry and were steamed, not roasted. The bangers and mash had a creamy mushroom sauce on top that did not go with the dish, the sausage was a breakfast sausage, not at all what expected in a dish like this.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Like G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    145
    58
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I've eaten here 6 times over the past couple months. The service is ok. Very friendly, but lack professionalism consistently. (Complaining about the business in full earshot of customers. Apparently, they aren't very happy. One waitress actually coughed all over our table) The food lacks flavor and is poorly presented. (Broken sauces seem to be their specialty. Onion soup tasted like it was cut with water. Crab cake tasted like nothing. Buffalo chicken sandwich could have been good if it hadn't been slopped together on the stale bun.) I waited to write a review hoping I would have the same experience as other reviewers, but after 6 chances I'm done wasting money on food in this over-rated establishment. The beer selection, however, is fantastic and bartenders are always attentive. But the prices are so cheap, I almost feel bad complaining. Almost. I really wanted to like this restaurant, but would rather pay more to enjoy myself. My advice to the owners is to purchase higher quality food, train your staff and show more consistency in the kitchen. Maybe I just dined on 6 "off days"?

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesfood93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I stopped in for dinner after a day of birding and found this to be the perfect spot. The atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly, the wait staff was attentive, the service good, and the crab cakes and shrimp were perfect. The beer list is comprehensive. The owner stopped by the table for a nice chat. We really like the fact that they focus on buying local ingredients for their preparations. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Cambridge area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bacon Caramel Brownie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Service was ok, friendly but slow. We only got dessert and coffee as there were no cafes or bakeries around. The desserts were amazing, the Irish coffee was perfect- bold and strong!

Helpful?
Thank Lorena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Don't miss this exuberant culinary gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Loved that everyone knew each other and the service was seriously amazing. Everything from the soft dense dinner rolls with sweet butter and sea salt to the special anniversary chocolate brownie they prepared for us was right up our alley. Picking our meal was difficult because everything appealed to us. They had several vegetarian options as well. It's like going to a party where the host knows you so well he made everything to your taste. Don't go if you are afraid of a little noise, the diners are exuberant about being there!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Spot Gastropub also viewed

 
Cambridge, MD
 

Been to High Spot Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing