We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant inn in a superb location”
Review of Chapman Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chapman Cottage
Ranked #3 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Chapman Cottage
Elegant Inn in a superb position
This is one of the best inns we stayed in – and we have stayed in many good ones. Donna and her son Paul, the owners, were most welcoming. The Mary Room was spacious and extremely comfortable and there were lovely little extra touches such as sherry and chocolates put out each night in the room.
We dined at the Dockside Inn, which was where Paul was the manager at the time, and had a superb meal. Paul then turned up to prepare breakfasts at Chapman Cottage and these were really something special!
Overall a most pleasant and enjoyable experience in a really beautiful and well-maintained old inn.
Donna and Paul – Thank you!
Bryan and Ann D.
UK

Room Tip: Mary Room is spacious light and comfortable, with its own deck outside
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryanDCrowboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Chapman Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Our experience differed from the superlative reviews we read prior to arrival. Chalk it down to expectations. We booked and paid for two nights and only stayed for one. The inn and its decor are tired. Our room was the Lawrence and it was quite small, not allowing much room for our suitcases. Details are important to us. The advertised terry robes lay heaped on the bottom of the armoire which held three hangers in total. The pillows were foam and no feather pillows were available. The small Phillips television was old and small. The quality of towels and linens were sub par. The toiletries included a bar of soap, combined shampoo and conditioner, and moisturizer labeled with Chapman Cottage. The gourmet breakfast that included scrambled eggs over tortilla chips and mild salsa was not gourmet. In fairness there were sherry and truffles. Unfortunately these items were not enough to make up for the other flaws including the view from our room which overlooked three large propane (?) canisters. We moved to a well lit, meticulously clean hotel in Portsmouth in a wonderful location near the harbor instead for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pearleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had a friendly and warm welcome when we arrived. We had the Elizabeth room which was cosy and had its own veranda which we enjoyed drinking wine on when it was warm and sunny.The only negative we had about the room was there was nowhere to hang your clothes except for a cupboard that had a few hooks in and no rail and had all the water pipes and hoovers in!! The location was fantastic with only a short walk to the local beach and a couple of retaurants.We found the Dockside restaurant a lovely place to eat.The daily truffles and sherry were a delight as was the breakfast with fresh fruit and muffins.It was such a relaxing place that we would recommend to other people.

Room Tip: The Elizabeth or Mary rooms if you want a veranda.The other rooms were much larger and more plush.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stotties7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

What a nice treat! A last minute getaway found us in this very comfortable B&B. Room was luxurious - we napped in the oversized chairs! I wouldn't book the Fonthill again ONLY because the shower curtain suspended around the claw foot tub made me nervous - however, all of the rooms are spectacular. Breakfast was wonderful!! Warm muffins, great fruit and main entree. Nice gardens to view. On-site lounge with cheese plate and 3 engaging bartender/hosts was a great place to start AND end an evening. Convenient access no matter what your interest - lighthouse, dining, walk down the street to the art association (free concert the weekend we were there). Lovely getaway.

Room Tip: See note above about claw foot tub in Fonthill.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Would fully recommend here, the Elizabeth Suite with the Deck was a dream letting us make the most of the excellent weather.Neil was an excellent host and Donna 's truffles and sherry were all they said on the tin.
The restaurant was not fully available when we were there , but theYork Harbor Inn with its dining room overlooking the cove was only a short walk away and Dockside was a short drive although it was an excellent target for a daytime stroll.
The Cottage is more of a Mansion and our hosts let us do your own thing which was just what we wanted, and we met some super guests over breakfast. Lobster and Scrambled Eggs - wow.
So thanks Chapman Cottage for a lovely time

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.7 km away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
767 reviews
0.8 km away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
404 reviews
2.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
#1 of 5 in York Harbor
208 reviews
1.1 km away
Morning Glory Inn
Morning Glory Inn
#2 of 23 in York
105 reviews
0.9 km away
Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Cottage

Address: 370 York St., Coastal Rt 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 8,438 - ₹ 16,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chapman Cottage York/York Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing