We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Never again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of York Harbor Motel and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
York Harbor Motel and Cottages
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
gloversville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Room smelled musty and they need much dating furniture was old and banged up. Rug was very stained and dirty. Too pricey for what it was.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank kathryn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This is a motel we stayed at many years ago with our kids. So, now that we are empty nesters, we decided to try it again. It is located right across the street from Long Sands Beach in York Beach. The portion of the beach directly across is a bit rocky, but just a couple of minutes walk brings you to the larger and flatter part of the beach. Though, there are plenty of places to sit and relax among the rocks directly across from the Motel.
The people at the front desk are incredibly friendly and helpful. The room we were in had a King size bed, a large private balcony with an overhead light for reading, and a wonderful view of the ocean. We were allowed, after checking out, to use their facilities for the rest of the day, which was very helpful as we wanted to spend the day on the beach. We are planning to make this an annual Summer destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cricket19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

So there are several factors that contribute to this rating. First, we arrived in York Beach on a wandering vacation and decided it looked nice and we'd try to stay a couple of days. No reservations, on a Saturday afternoon, in July, Yeah. So, I began calling places starting at the top of the ratings I could browse on my phone and working my way down the list (as ALL were booked) until my battery was drained. I then resorted to just walking along Long Sands beachfront and stopping at the hotel desks. At the York Harbor Motel and Cottages I got a "Yes, we have one room left", yay! The price? $260 for one night or $200 a night for 2 nights, ouch! Husband and I conferred for 2 minutes and decided we would suck it up and stay.
Well, the room ended up being a "studio cottage" which turned out to be a low-ceilinged single room with everything: bed, bureau, nightstand, TV, clothing rack, kitchen, table and chairs. Not really much "moving around" room. Separated by a door was the small bathroom (tiny vanity, no tub). There was also a very small, screened porch on the front. The kitchen came with everything you might need for a longer stay, plates, cups, bowls, fridge, microwave, coffee maker etc. The bed was terrible, it sagged in the middle and I think it was a full size, barely large enough for two normal adults to share comfortably. Linens were clean, but old and worn. The carpet smelled musty. Our unit had a window air conditioner that barely cooled the room at full blast. I guess only some of the units here have A/C, so if that is important to you, make sure you know what you are getting.
There is a small pool on the property, but it's selling point is really the proximity to the beach (across the street). The beach here is beautiful, but whoa, crazy crowded on July weekends.
They include a $6 breakfast coupon for the Lobster Cove Restaurant (a block away) for each adult in the room, food was decent there. The lady that was manning the desk when we checked in was very friendly and extremely helpful, the one the next day was neither of the above. This room would have been fine for $60 a night, even $100 at the tops, but was really substandard for the price we paid. Of course, it's all about supply and demand, and that weekend there was plenty of demand, right after we paid for the room someone came in asking if they had any vacancies. Would I come back to York Harbor? Yes! Would I stay here again? No, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thiswaythatway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York Harbor hotels

Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

For more than $1300 per week, you get 3 very small bedrooms, a tiny kitchen, no counter space. Tou better be thin, otherwise you cannot take a shower. The outside furniture is rotten so are the windows. The garbage dumpster is located in the playing area, just besides the swimming pool. The place is not very clean, to say the least. A place to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pops013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnstown ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

my husband and i have gone to york on long sands beach for the last four years for our anniversary. all of the places we have stayed were nice but the york harbor motel was recommended to us by another couple, so we decided to try it.
the motel is right across the street from the ocean,long sands beach. sept is a wonderful time to go, you can walk on the beach,relax and on warmer days even go swimming. we purchased the romance package for 299$ this included 2 nights, 4pm checkout, 2 wonderful dinners at jonathans, 4 hot breakfast at the lobster cove right next to the motel, and a small welcome wine and cheese basket.
if you are looking for luxury, stay someplace else. but, if you are looking for a clean, friendly, perfectly located place to spend a weekend ...stay here. it was very nice and we will definately be staying there next year!!
a great value!! nancy

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
2.1 km away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
4.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.2 km away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand View Inn and Cottages
Grand View Inn and Cottages
#3 of 4 in York Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
13.0 km away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Harbor Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Motel and Cottages

Property: York Harbor Motel and Cottages
Address: 780 York Street (Route 1A), York Harbor, York, ME 03909
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,029 - ₹ 74,074
Hotel Class:2.5 star — York Harbor Motel and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from Long Sands Beach, York Harbor Motel offers both nightly motel accommodations and weekly cottage/apartment rentals. A variety of motel rooms are available-some with ocean views-including efficiencies, 2 double beds or King beds. Most rooms have refrigerators, coffee makers and microwaves. Cottage and apartments-some with ocean views-can accommodate up to eight guests and are equipped with full kitchens and basic utensils and dishes. Bed linens are supplied in all units. Laundromat on premise. Wwe also offer a fresh water pool for those hot summer days. Maine's southern coastal region provides all sorts of attractions including fine dining, shopping, the Ogunquit Playhouse, tennis, golf, antique shops, shopping, an amusement park, special events and scenic highlights. It is a region rich with a variety of artistic and cultural offerings. Summertime is especially active for many of the artisans and shops. Historic Portsmouth, New Hampshire, is just 6 miles away. Or simply relax and enjoy the fresh air on the Maine seacoast. Open seasonally Mid-May through Labor Day, we offer many choices in family accommodations including motel units for up to 4 guests, including a free hot breakfast for each day of your stay. We also offer weekly units with 1-3 bedrooms that can accommodate up to 8 guests. To help you find your interests, we offer free wireless internet.  Our staff is ready to assist you in every way to make your vacation on the Maine coast a pleasant and enjoyable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your York Harbor Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Motel And Cottages Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing