We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck”
Review of 1652

1652
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in York Beach
Description: Authentic Italian cuisine, in the heart of York Beach, brought to you by Executive Chef, Robert Martin.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Italian cuisine, in the heart of York Beach, brought to you by Executive Chef, Robert Martin.
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Hubby had the Pollack meal and I had a Shrimp pasta meal. Both of us were very disappointed. The sad thing is that hubby saw the chef lick his fingers. We had their Sunday brunch which was good. But dinner, nope, nada and no. Not good at all. No flavor.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank dti0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2018

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious, but limited choices. I had the meatballs - very filling.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We visited on a Monday night in September so that may account for the fact there was only 1 other couple in the place. Or it may have been because the menu is small, the prices are high and the food was not good. We had the linguini with white clam sauce which was overwhelmingly lemony, the rigatoni Bolognese which was very spicy...thinking it was crushed red pepper as the waitress brought an extra little dish of crushed red pepper in case you weren't already sweating from the heat of the dish. We asked for bread and were served some toasted baguette slices with olive oil and a balsamic vinegar dipping sauce. Simple Italian bread & butter would have been more appreciated. I know they are going for the upscale crowd but somethings are better simplified. The restaurant is beautiful and ambiance is probably very nice with a crowd. Our appetizer of saffron & cheese arancini was very good. Thought we discovered a new go-to place when staying in York so we don't wear out our welcome at York Harbor Inn.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jetsetterwannabe_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We were in York Beach (which we loved) and found this place for lunch. It was a nice atmosphere and we enjoyed sitting outside. Pinot Grigio was decent. My husband enjoyed his porchetta sandwich. I ordered the lunch sized portion of the angel hair pasta. It was very good- however the portion was ridiculously small. I didn’t want a large amount for lunch but this was about 4 forkfuls (for $11). I wish I had taken a picture but all I can say- just one tiny little scoop that could be finished in two minutes. Very disappointed in that- it definitely should be more generous sized portions.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank OceanWonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Cali makes the best martinis, even better than Huw’s Dad. The family atmosphere is the best way n this sleepy beach town

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank kevinpS7518IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 1652? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing