We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively restauant and excellent food!”
Review of 1652

1652
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in York Beach
Description: Authentic Italian cuisine, in the heart of York Beach, brought to you by Executive Chef, Robert Martin.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Italian cuisine, in the heart of York Beach, brought to you by Executive Chef, Robert Martin.
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We decided to try this restaurant out and were glad that we did. Everything that we ordered was absolutely delicious. We sat at the bar and the mixed drinks we had were expertly made and very good. For a cold night n November, it was actually very busy here and everyone around us seemed to be enjoying themselves. This is not an inexpensive restaurant, but you get what you pay for . The quality of the food was very good and everything we had was very fresh. We started with the arancini and the meatballs. We also had the bianco pizza (yummy!!) and the butter fried pork Milanese, both very good. The prices were very much in line with what we have paid at other local restaurant at this level and the portions were more than adequate. I noticed some negative reviews here and they seemed very unfair to us. Like I said, it is not inexpensive, but if you don't mind paying for quality you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank oceanview34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huw C, Owner at 1652, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

We very much appreciate your review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience so much.
Thank you so much for taking time to share your time at 1652 with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
The 1652 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stumbled upon this restaurant one Sunday afternoon while looking at rental properties in the area. We were both impressed with the food and service. We split 2 appetizers and 2 brunch entrees. Food is excellent, great atmosphere. We will be going back, we liked it so much it influence our decision to buy a condo in the same building.

1  Thank Shawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2017

Hi Shawn,
We are delighted that your experience at 1652 was such a positive one, and welcome to York Beach Residence Club as a result!! Thank you so much for sharing your review, and we very much look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon.
The 1652 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Our day with friends in York Beach ended with a lovely dinner at 1652. The restaurant is intimate, but a bit noisy. We started with a great bottle of wine from a nice selection. A simple salad with arugula and parmesan was amazing with just the right combination of lemon and extra virgin olive oil . The lamb special was excellent. We finished with a raspberry tart that was just what was needed to top this off. The off season servers leaved a bit to be desired and lacked the training needed for this new restaurant to get to its great potential.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2017

Hi Bill,
Thank you for sharing your experience at 1652, we really appreciate your positive feedback as well as a couple of improvements we could make. I am happy to say that we have made some changes to our Front of House team, and we believe you'll find it to be far smoother on your next visit. Additionally we have added some features to the dining room in an effort to dampen the noise somewhat.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
The 1652 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We came upon this cool new spot by chance, great brunch time experience!
The staff were super helpful and friendly. If you're looking for a fresh modern new place to grab a bite you have to try this place.

1  Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2017

Hi James,
Thanks very much for visiting 1652, and thanks for sharing your experience. We're very happy you enjoyed our new establishment and look forward to seeing you again soon!
The 1652 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stumbled across this place and had Sunday Brunch. The menu is modern and different. We all enjoyed our meals very much. Staff is definitely new but they were friendly and attentive. I think this place has potential!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2017

Hi Marie,
Thank you for trying us out for Brunch, we are really proud of our slightly different and less conventional approach and we're so happy you enjoyed it.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
The 1652 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 1652? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing