We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations--way over the top.”
Review of Salt Box

Salt Box
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 18 October 2018

It seems like people are more inspired to write negative reviews than positive ones, so we are glad to share this ray of sunshine after our great experience at Salt Box. The service was good, the setting was special, and the food was fantastic.

We totally loved Salt Box, from the excellent wine selection to begin through the amazing dessert to finish. It wasn't about the size or range of choices--it was about the quality. Dry Riesling is hard to find at most wineries, so we were surprised to see it on the wine list and it was excellent. We split a dinner so we could enjoy 3 appetizers, starting with potato leek soup. The balance of flavors, with fresh leek, fresh herbs, and spices was amazing. The chef was not afraid to season this soup and it was extraordinary. We had caprese salad--simple, but the fresh basil plus sundried tomatoes were perfect. Then came the mussels--the best anywhere. The broth was exceptional. Finally, we shared the homemade pasta with white parmesan tarragon sauce and fresh lobster. The pasta and sauce complimented the lobster perfectly and we totally loved it. Granted, the lobster in Winter Harbor is top of the line, but this dish took it up another step. Wow. Finally, we split the cheesecake, topped with black cherry compote. Again, out of the park, especially the graham cracker crust infused with (hazel?) nuts. We topped it off with a glass of excellent 20-year old port.

The chef's attention to detail, freshness, and balance of flavors was apparent through every part of this meal. It was extraordinary. We're sorry this restaurant is 1,000 miles from our Indiana home, but hopefully we can come back to Maine and experience this again soon.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bigjohn512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We visited the Salt Box for our anniversary dinner, we were visiting and were looking for something a little more upscale to. Elle rate one year of marriage. We made a reservation and were seated promptly (parking was a bit of a struggle). The cocktails were good and served promptly. We enjoyed the salted cod fritters as an appetizer. Our entrees were served in a timely manner and were good, except: my husband ordered the gnocchi which was very tasty except for the fact the the mushrooms were not properly cleaned so there were bites that were a bit gritty. I ordered the semolina pasta with cream sauce and lobster and the pasta was VERY dry, to the point where the tarragon sauce was difficult to detect. Overall the meals were good, but the kitchen needs to pay a bit more attention to these details. We would have mentioned this to our server but there only seemed to be 2.5 ladies waiting tables (one was intermittently serving and fulfilling the host role) and she only came by to clear our plates and drop the check after the meal was served.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank maineiak07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

We were fascinated by the building, we looked up the menu and saw the reviews and knew we had to try the place. We really enjoyed the food, although the waitstaff could use some additional training. The atmosphere was lovely although we were seated in the warmest section of the restaurant and the air conditioning didn't seem to be functioning. As we left a man was pulling in on a motorcycle and he thanked us for frequenting his establishment. If he was the owner he should pass his warmth on to the waitstaff - it would go a long way. Fortunately the excellent food made up for the staff.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kimf109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

The setting of the Salt Box is lovely, as is the building. Based on the previous reviews I was expecting great things. Unfortunately, the experience did not rise to that level. This is a fairly expensive place that does have some good ideas but it seems they are poorly executed. One of our dishes, a pasta dish, arrived at room temperature and had to be sent back for microwaving. Another dish was only slightly warmer. The bread they serve can only be described as inexpensive supermarket type Italian. All in all the cost to quality ratio was significantly out of kilter. It was adequate but nothing like special as to the food. Perhaps we just came on a bad evening.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PickyMontrealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

LOVE Salt Box - from the creative cocktails when you sit down all the way through to the irresistible desserts, it's a real treat. Mike, the chef/owner, is personable and talented. Open kitchen is beautiful; views of the harbor are lovely. Our service was great - attentive but not overbearing. Salads fresh and interesting, entrees flavorful and great variety. A perfect celebration night to close out vacation. Can't wait to come back next year.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Box also viewed

Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Winter Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Winter Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Birch Harbor, Gouldsboro
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Salt Box? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing