We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is consistently one of the cheapest places to stay in the Portland area. Rental car or other vehicle is a must, as taxis are quite expensive. But anyway I stayed here in August. Back in June I stayed at the nearby Howard Johnson and that was nice. The Super 8 chain is supposed to be slightly a step down below HoJo from what I understand (since it's the same parent company, Wyndham), but I liked the Super 8 a lot better. The breakfast is great, considering it's free.

The rooms are pretty good. Beds are comfortable, sheets are clean and everything. Sure, the room might not be spotless (especially the bathroom) but you shouldn't seriously expect 5-star quality at a 2-star motel. I stayed in a double room the first night and a king bed room the second night. The king bed was nicer and that room had a recliner and a fridge.

The staff here are phenomenal. I had booked the rooms on two different websites, so I had to sort of check out and re-check in; but during breakfast I asked and by 10:30 they called me in my room to say the new room was ready. They also bake cookies daily and have them at the front desk, although usually they run out around 9pm (as I learned the hard way last time). Breakfast starts at 5 or 6 I think, so if you're on an early morning flight you're almost out of luck -- there's a 24/7 Burger King right next door. Nonetheless, this was one thing I liked about the Super 8 -- the HoJo had a restaurant and a Friendly's, so no free breakfast (you got a substantial (20-30%) discount with your room key). A free breakfast is always better than a free-ish one ;)

The parking lot goes around the entire property, so you're able to park close to your room. I didn't go in the pool but you can see it from outside (huge windows -- which might be sorta creepy but I'm sure it's nice when it's a nice day out). It was large enough for several small parties to have enough space. Looked like a nice facility although you could smell the chlorine in the hall immediately outside of the pool area.

Overall, I think this place is a winner. Don't go in expecting too much and you will be pleased. I'm heading back to Portland in a few weeks and with all the promos that Wyndham Rewards is having, as well as the quality and value of this facility, I wouldn't consider staying anyplace else.

Room Tip: King Bed rooms are nicer; mine had a recliner and a fridge. Also, the ends of the hallways are wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingFriday013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    146
    145
    90
    60
See reviews for
184
142
42
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at this motel 2 nights in mid-September. The essentials of the room were equal to what we had paid about double for the night before in the suburbs of Boston. The free breakfast menu exceeded in variety and prearation all others we had throughout our 16 day vacation in New England and Maine. Being able to park near the room and the provision of breakfast made early morning departures easy.
The staff memebers were friendly, ready to be of service. They run a very good operation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms risk less disturbing noises from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here to be close to airport for an early morning flight. Decent place for the price. Room was obvisously a smoking room and was kind of stinky because of the stale smoke. A bit noisey with dogs barking in rooms down the hall everytime someone walked by their door. AC works great as the room was almost too cold when we checked in. Beds were comfy. All in all you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke ask for a non-smoking room or you won't like the smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepho23o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

There was shaving stubble on my bathroom sink, pubic/body hair on the floor near shower, and that's not even the worst part! There was feces splatter on the back of the toilet, not only on the rim and bowl but on the seat it's self!
I was told I could check in at 3pm, we had to wait around until 5 because the room hadn't been cleaned?! This is inexcusable! There was no way this could have been oversight!
I phoned the desk 4 times with no answer, and had a ball game to go to so I would tell them at the front desk; there was no one to be found on our way out.
Needless to say we threw the blankets on the floor (they looked clean, but who knows at this point) and didn't use the bathroom at all!! When I saw a house keeper in the hall and told the condition of my room they said "Huh?!" and continued what they were doing...
The older woman doing the continental breakfast was rude, and snapped at a woman and a child..
My friend told the front desk what had happened with everything, and they just said "Sorry about that..."
Will never use a super 8 again!

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westbrook hotels

Farmingdale, ME
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for the night so that we could get to the airport the next morning. It was also the night of my wedding, I understand wanting to save some money but now my honeymoon is tainted by staying in this dingy, semi dirty room. Honestly I could not get comfortable, it was passable but I would spend an extra forty dollars to stay in a clean room, and updated room! I will not go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMFarmingdale_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.3 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
7.1 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
7.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area

Property: Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area
Address: 208 Larrabee Rd, Maine Turnpike at Exit 48, Westbrook, ME 04092-4751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Westbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,246 - ₹ 6,807
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Westbrook/Portland Hotel Westbrook
Super Eight Westbrook
Westbrook Super Eight
Westbrook Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing