We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Food!”

Varano's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 76 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

My family dined at Varano’s during a recent trip to Maine. We were reluctant to dine at an Italian restaurant while in a seaside resort area, but saw the positive reviews and decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed! The food was delicious! We started with bread that was served with delicious olive oil/Parmesan dipping oil. Yum! We then had the gnocchi, chicken Marsala and spaghetti & meatballs. All were delicious! When we left, there was an hour wait (on a Wednesday at 7:00), so the word has certainly gotten out about this hot spot!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank CTgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

We were extremely delighted with the chicken parmesan that was so big we could have shared it! We sat at the bar for dinner to avoid the wait and the bartender was amazing! Very friendly and he makes the best sangria! We will definitely be back on our next visit to Wells!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank K2skimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We had a rushed family dinner only because our young children didn't want to sit still. The staff was understanding and accommodating to tourists and got our food out quickly. The atmosphere was very nice and the food was good. Wish we could have had a more relaxed meal, but we left full and happy.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anthonyveloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Great food starting with the fresh Parmesan cheese in olive oil for your bread. I could make this the main course if I hadn’t tasted the chicken Marsala. I eat this everywhere and this is the best I have found, anywhere. I get this every time. My wife gets the lemon chicken piccata which is also excellent. The Chianti wine is a good pairing. We never bother with dessert, being too full. Service is attentive. Chicken parmigiana is also a good selection. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We loved our meal sitting at the bar. Jennifer is a very warm, easy going server. We really enjoyed her waiting on us. We split the caprese salad and we split the veal pacata. Both excellent. The portions are extremely generous! We had a wonderful dinner and was very happy with our server!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank MargieFramingham_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Varano's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing