We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures and Words Can Be Deceiving”
Review of Tidewater Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vinalhaven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tidewater Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vinalhaven
Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pictures and Words Can Be Deceiving”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We went to Vinalhaven for the first time and stayed at this Motel. In a word--disappointing. The website makes the place look relatively up-to-date and pleasant. Here's the good-- the views ARE nice and the place is clean. Here's the bad-- if you like clean, but cramped 1960's bathrooms and an uncomfortable bed, you'll love this place. The exterior is shabby, there are no hotel "common areas" to speak of. To get to our room, we walked under an exterior stairway and then through a cramped, dark exterior hallway (not the most pleasant approach). Also, we found the staff rather unfriendly. All this for $200 a night? No thank you. Clean only goes so far.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silver028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    27
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
39
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

There is a ferry ride that takes 1 & 1/4 hours to get to Vinalhaven but the trip is so worth it. The rooms all have balconies over the water where the tides come in and go out. Because of this the rooms are very cool, even in July and watching the tides from our balcony was wonderful. I highly recommend this clean, neat motel. It is no frills but the rooms are clean and they have TV's and the balconies make the whole thing a wonderful experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbmgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Our trip to Vinalhaven and our stay at the Tidwater Inn were so enjoyable.

The room we stayed in was on the first floor, with a balcony directly overlooking the rushing tide below. It was a sight to see, something I'll never forget. Our room was very clean and spacious, with a mini-refrigerator and a nice-sized balcony. Continental breakfast was included. Overall, this room was the best value of our entire week in Maine.

Phil and the staff were very friendly. I did buy the book that he wrote, and the parts that I have read are pretty interesting/funny.

I can't say enough about the island, the people, the food (good restaurants), and the overally experience. I would be lucky to go be able to go back there!

  • Liked — The view, the island, the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank radio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We are Maine natives who live in Kennebunkport, Maine. What a pleasure to find a spot in Maine that reminds us of how Maine used to be when we were growing up. Vinalhaven is an honest touch of the Maine people come to see: a large lobster industry, lovely island, the sound of the fog horn on foggy days and locals who say hello to you on the street. This is Vinalhaven.
The Tidewater is the place to stay while on the island. It is perfectly situated, has an amazing view and clean, pretty rooms. They offer bikes for tourning the island and kayak rentals. Pretty much everything is taken care of. We liked it alot.

  • Liked — the views of the harbor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mainehatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

We have fallen in love with Maine but had never visited any of the islands and wanted to experience the state in all its real wonderfulness...We chose Vinalhaven because it was a bit more rugged and remote than some of the others. So glad we did - it's beautiful, and even the ferry ride (on a particularly bad day, with 10' waves) was brilliant, felt like we were venturing into the beyond! I'm actually quite glad it wasn't sunny and we were out of season as it meant we seemed to have a tourist-less island and when we walked on Lane's Island it was like something out of Wuthering Heights. Very good for the soul.

We'd been in touch with Phil who runs the motel explaining that it was our wedding anniversary and we wanted a private, romantic room. He gave us the Crows Nest which is the other side of the motel and on the top floor. It had a great view of the harbour and the wind roaring around us made it very atmospheric. All the staff had signed a card and left a half bottle of wine in an ice bucket for us which was very kind. The room is basic but spacious, there's a coffee maker, and an ensuite shower/WC. All very adequate. Downstairs is a communal sitting room with loads of magazines and books.

The tiny lobby, which is usually unmanned, has an 'honesty' area for guests to pick up coffee, cereal etc. There's also a shop next door (I think they own it too?) which does wine, sandwiches, can make up picnics etc.

We got Phil to sign a copy of his book 'Away Happens' which we strongly recommend to anyone wanting to understand the Maine psyche - it's hilarious!

Vinalhaven has now become one of my top five favourite places; genuinely loved it, and the motel's location and the owners make it the perfect place to stay. I have the distinct feeling we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hells1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinalhaven
25.7 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
22.8 km away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
23.0 km away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
25.7 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
25.9 km away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Motel

Property: Tidewater Motel
Address: 15 Main St, P.O. Box 546, Vinalhaven, ME 04863-3920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Vinalhaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vinalhaven
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,464 - ₹ 12,605
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater Motel is built on a bridge separating Carver's Harbor to the south from Carver's Pond, its tidal estuary, to the north. The same rush of ocean water coming and going right under your harborside room once powered a blacksmith shop and grist mill on the site. Few views can equal those at the Tidewater and few places are as relaxing; the ebb and flow is nature's own sedative. Still, the world's most productive lobster fleet, anchored right outside your window, gets an early start, so you may not want to sleep in. Open year-round, the Tidewater is the island's only motel. If you want to be closer to the water, you'll have to get wet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel Vinalhaven
Tidewater Motel Vinalhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing