We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Maine vacation is a dream come true.”
The Day Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Day Cottage
Our beach and ocean Sunset from the porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Day Cottage
Our beach and ocean
Sunset from the porch
a great place to read, relax and nap
The morning sun is so welcoming
First floor bedroom
Double doors open on to the porch
Enjoy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Trenton, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Retiredst...
Belton, Missouri
1 review
“Maine vacation is a dream come true.”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our stay at the Day Cottage was absolutely fabulous. The Cottage is charming and warm. John and Teresa, the owners of the Cottage, are very hospitable and make you feel very welcome. The hard part was leaving. We so enjoyed walking down the steps of the screened in porch right to the water. Having our morning coffee on the screened in porch and watching the tide and listening to the birds was a favorite thing to do. When you open your eyes in the morning you have a view of the ocean from the master bedroom. I had always wanted to visit Maine and this was a dream come true. Maine didn't disappointment me and the Day Cottage was the perfect place to stay. John and Teresa had blue berry muffins ready for our welcome and a fire ready to strike in the fireplace. We loved every minute of our stay and I would recommend a stay at the Day Cottage to anyone who is going to visit the Bar Harbor Area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The Sofa.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L
Brightwaters, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise Found !”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

As the summer of 2012 was coming to a close my Wife and I decided to take our two daughters (9 & 13) up to the Acadia region of Maine for a weeks vacation. I found John & Teresa's "Day Cottage" on Tripadvisor and was immediately interested from the photos and positive reviews. Upon our arrival we couldn't have been more impressed with the condition of the cottage and the beautiful views of the water and surrounding woods. The cottage itself was immaculate with everything (and I mean everything) you could imagine for enjoying your stay. The "thought out" way in which all aspects of the cottage were arranged showed the love and care that John and Teresa have for this home.
The cottage is about 20 minutes outside of Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. Our days were spent kayaking & swimming in the mornings(water was plenty warm enough), exploring Acadia during the day, lobster diners, drinks by the fireplace and finally falling to sleep on the day beds on the screened in porch listening to the birds and the waves. We were fortunate to catch a great week of warm weather which really allowed us to take full advantage of the area.
The entire experience was a "HOME RUN", our kids are already asking about when we can go back. As you can tell we had a blast and I can't see how anyone could go wrong with staying at this home and in this part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the porch watching the sun set
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair
Reviewed 19 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Reviewed 14 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OH
Reviewed 3 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Aug 2012
Dear Reed Family, We will look forward to your return. As you sweet children grow so will the age appropriate toys and games. However, the ocean and the sunsets will remain constant. Till we meet again, Teresa and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 2,100
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing