We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Bed and Breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cranberry Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cranberry Hill Inn
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Bed and Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was exactly what we were looking for. We had been traveling up the Eastern Seaboard for a week and been staying in 3+ star hotels. Our plan was to spend a few days near Bar Harbor in a B&B, so we chose this Inn in Southwest Harbor (the other side of Mt. Desert island)...btw, the "we" is my wife, two teenagers, and I.
We booked the Captain Mayo suite. It was HUGE! We had our own private bathroom and the kids slept around the corner of the same room. The Innkeeper even made two separate beds for the kids (normally they would have had to share).
Patti (the innkeeper) and her husband were so gracious. We called ahead that we were going to arrive late, and they were very accommodating The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and filling. The food was fresh and obviously used local produce (berries...incredible). I just wish I had not been watching my weight, because I would have eaten more!
The main reason why we chose a B&B was to really get immersed in the local flavors of the area. The Cranberry Hill Inn delivered on that front, also. Breakfast conversation was interesting and enjoyable, and we got some good tips on what to do in the area.
If we ever make it back to Maine and the Bar Harbor area, our choice of lodging will be the Cranberry Hill Inn!
Here is the website: http://www.cranberryhillinn.com/index.html

Room Tip: Just ask Patti any questions you have...the communication we had as I was planning the trip was quic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Very relaxing B&B. Highly recommend the Captain Mayo suite for a small family. Very nice to have a separate back entrance, like our own little apartment. Very large room, King-sized bed, and little sitting room overlooking the beautiful garden. Although the living room is right above this room, it is "closed" after 8:00 pm, so there are no problems with hearing footsteps above. The living room has a great selection of DVDs offered to guests as well, and also paperback books and guidebooks to borrow, even a cabinet of games and puzzles for children. Also enjoyed the hot tea and cookies offered in the late afternoon.

Can't beat the location, on a quiet side street, yet an easy walk into the "downtown" part of SW Harbor. Also a nice walk down the street in the opposite direction takes you to the harbor and waterfront.

Breakfasts were very good, with a hot entree, muffins, juice, and more. We would have no hesitation in staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at The Cranberry Hill Inn. Our room had the view of harbor. (when the fog wasn't in). The inn-owner Patti, was wonderful. She cooked a great breakfast each morning. She gave us great advice on local hiking sites that turned out wonderful. Room was clean and bright. We would strongly recommend this B&B if you planning a stay in the Bar Harbor area. Very quiet and we slept great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinDua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

This is the 2nd summer in arow that we've stayed here. This place might be a bit cheaper than some other B&Bs in the area, but it is every bit as nice. We've stayed at B&Bs in Bar Harbor and another, more expensive one in Southwest Harbor, but we like this one best. Breakfasts are very filling and healthy. Patty and Jerry (hope I got their spelling right) seem very comfortable with guests and spend more time with guests than other B&Bs I've stayed at. The exterior rooms are nice, because you can come and go without going into the main house. I like that. Walking distance to great lobster restaurant, Cranberry Island ferry, and the little downtown area. Restaurant whose name escapes me has the most incredible pies. Bike Shop is there also if you want to rent bikes and go the carriage trails (highly recommended)! There also is a TV in every room, which is usual for B&Bs. Will always stay here as long as Patty/Jerry own this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOnestABE18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Patty catered to our every need. Her breakfasts were wonderful. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. Only 20 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor. The harbor views are great and the garden area is so beautiful. Definitely will be back and will stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lhutto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.3 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 km away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.7 km away
Pier One Vacation Rentals
Pier One Vacation Rentals
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
17.1 km away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Hill Inn

Property: Cranberry Hill Inn
Address: 60 Clark Point Rd, PO Box 222, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4411
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,551 - ₹ 10,808
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cranberry Hill Inn offers unique luxury suites on the harbor in the quiet village of Southwest Harbor, Maine. Minutes from Acadia National Park and two blocks from the center of town; our inn offers the peaceful atmosphere of rooms that open to our garden and look out at the harbor with the convenience of a short walk to dinner and shopping. All of our suites have private entrances,air conditioning,cable television, free WiFi and private baths, some with jacuzzi. Our kitchenettes offer a refrigerator and microwave. Each suite has private decks on the garden and guests can use our outdoor grills and bike storage areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hill Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing