We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hate to leave...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harbour Cottage Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hate to leave...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We visited and stayed at Harbour Cottage Inn for three days with our kids of 11 and 14. It was a more than pleasant experience. Of course the weather was great, that helps, but the service, the location and the rooms were the best we ever had in a B&B. And let's not forget breakfast! Being quite selective on that topic, we where truly happy with the fresh, creative and tasteful dishes. A warm recommendation for this little paradise. And a much better location then the more touristic Bar Harbour by the way.

Room Tip: As a family, book the Harbourside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    44
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
163
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yountville, California, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Two friends and I stayed four nights at this charming B&B. The accommodations are clean and pleasant, and the breakfasts are noteworthy. Our charming host helped us in planning a trip to Acadia National Park and provided useful information throughout our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyGates_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
196 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was one of my first inn experiences, not my usual choice when I travel. This was perfect for me, very clean and relaxing environment and very unobtrusive style inn. Stayed in the Carriage House for 3 nights and loved it. There is no ocean view, but there are actually no real views that are worth paying for in Southwest Harbor and I didn't miss it at all. (The views are in the park people! Get out there!) It was so quiet at night, and easily walking distance (2 blocks) to the little town center. I had never been to Acadia, and had made a reservation at a waterfront property in Bar Harbor. Got a tip from a former Park Ranger that Southwest Harbor was the place to stay, especially if you have no kids and don't need retail therapy after a good day's hike. ABSOLUTELY the right decision. After walking the town, checking out Northeast Harbor and Bar Harbor, and spending 3 days in Acadia I would defnitely return to Harbour Cottage and the Carriage House on my next visit without hesitation.

Room Tip: I chose the Carriage House, a separate entrance cottage next to the main inn. Super charming, good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winstonteaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent 3 perfect days at The Harbour Cottage Inn. Our day began with gourmet breakfasts, then our hosts helped direct us to the best options of hiking and eating for our day. We came home to rest and relaxation on the covered porch and beds. Wine glasses were made available, as well as a sweet treat. Don, Doug, and the chef made for a wonderful trip. We even took the sunset sailing trip for our party of six and found Lou, the boat captain, to be very knowledgable, gracious, and fun. We highly recommend this side trip, as it is right in Southwest Harbor.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely. We had The Dory,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleair, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

As a family with two boys 10 and 12, we enjoyed the warmth and peacefulness at the Harbour Cottage Inn. Breakfast was a gourmet feast perfect before hiking in Acadia National Park and the common room was a great place to play chess and read. Doug and Don have created an aura of calm that permeates the Harbour Cottage Inn. We were the only family but felt very welcome.
Southwest Harbor is charming and much less touristy than Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.2 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
14.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
14.9 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
15.4 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
14.9 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Cottage Inn

Property: The Harbour Cottage Inn
Address: 9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4454
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,267 - ₹ 17,723
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbour Cottage Inn, a premier bed and breakfast providing very private and elegant lodging in the quiet and historic village of Southwest Harbor, Maine. Our beautiful location is steps away from a picturesque working harbor, near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, which makes many great adventures possible. The inn is furnished with museum quality art and antiques, and all of our 11 incredible guest rooms and suites offer cozy, comfortable and well-appointed spaces to relax, refresh and renew. Choose from a 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suite offering relaxing accommodations for 1 couple 2 couples or even a family of 6. Unlike most bed and breakfasts, some of these suites have private living areas, decks and kitchens. Imagine starting your day over a lovingly prepared breakfast on the porch, or in the living room by the fireplace. Explore restaurants, shopping, marinas and lobster wharves near our Mount Desert Island lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Harbour Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Cottage Hotel Southwest Harbor
The Harbour Cottage Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing