We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Harbour Cottage Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Charming cottage with lots of special details everywhere, in a nice and quiet spot. The owners friendly attention is very helpful in recommending places to visit.
All mornings a delicious breakfast is waiting for you in a lovely dinning room, with cranberry scones and great omellets or pancakes.
Definetely an excellent and romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivianapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Harbour Cottage Inn far exceeded our hopes of a clean, quiet, and friendly place to stay, with plenty to do, but away from the crowds of Bar Harbor. About the essentials . . yes very clean rooms, nice bathrooms, plentiful parking, quiet setting, cozy common area, and great breakfasts. But what made Harbour Cottage most memorable and pefect was the warm hopsitality of the innkeepers who treated us as their special friends. We would and will go back again! Note to nature lovers and birders. Its really is a short 20 minute drive to the main part of the Park-the loop road, Jordan Pond, etc. But what is even better is that SW Harbor is only a few minutes from the wilder SW portion of Acadia with the scenic trails at Seawall and Bass Harbor area. Jeff & Chris

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFF N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Jim and I spent 6 nights at the Harbour Cottage Inn B & B. The owners were gracious, pleasant, and kind. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. They were eager to help us plan our days, and had wonderful suggestions for dining. The rooms were clean, and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast menus were good and the service personable. This is the quietest Inn I have been in. The Inn is in a lovely neighborhood within walking distance to Southwest Harbour. The location is within easy driving distance to everything we had planned to do in Acadia. We will be returning to to Harbour Cottage Inn the next time we visit Maine. Carolyn

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Our first visit to the Harbour Cottage Inn was to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We wanted everything to be special. The accommodations and ambience born of tasteful furnishings, tasty breakfasts, and knowledgeable innkeepers far exceeded our expectations...and we are seasoned travelers. We weren’t expecting to make the HCI an annual affair, but this year it will be for our 40th anniversary, and we haven’t missed one in between. Over the years we’ve met many interesting guests at the inn. Some make it their headquarters for a busy, activity-packed vacation. Others look to HCI as a quiet respite from busy, activity-packed lives back home. Based on our experience, it seems to work for everyone.

Room Tip: Be sure to take advantage of HCI's abundance of information resources for Acadia National Park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in the carriage house, which is a converted carriage house. It rained pretty heavily while we there so it was pretty loud at night. It's a great bedroom with kitchen and living space but the bedroom does lack some privacy to the living area because the walls don't reach the ceiling - a point to note if you were thinking of sharing the space with another couple or friend. It was well maintained with a small porch with chairs that overlooked the parking lot. As the carriage house is on the road you will hear street traffic at times.

This B&B is a short walk to downtown Southwest harbor which is small and not as bustling as Bar Harbor. If you don't mind the drive to BH or don't want that scene then this is the place for you.

Breakfast was ok, I wondered if one our meals was previously frozen. Service was great and we had no complaints.

Next time we visit we might stay in Bar Harbor to be closer to the action, but would return here if we wanted the quieter side of things.

Room Tip: carriage house can be noisy but is spacious. bedroom not as private to living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfo314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djoel, Owner at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

As always we appreciate candid feedback and see it as an opportunity to be better. Overall this guest had a great stay and we appreciate that they chose to stay with us. The Carriage House cottage is one of our nicest and most spacious units. It has cathedral ceilings for a wonderful feeling of openness. The bedroom walls do in fact not go all the way to the ceiling but they are over 9 feet tall. Leaving them open above 9 feet just gives the cottage a dramatic and airy feeling. The unit is ideal for just 2 but it does have a sleep sofa in the living room for a family that might have 1 or 2 kids. We do not rent the unit to 4 adults. It would just be too crowded and we want our guests to have the best possible experience. The cottage does have a tin roof and most guests thoroughly enjoy the soothing sound of the rain at night.
Our breakfasts are all home made and offer something for everyone. We do not serve frozen food with the exception of sausage which we cook but does come to us frozen. We would love to have these folks give us another try at breakfast as most guests tell us how unique, fresh and enjoyable our service and food is. This is also reflected in most of the reviews here on Trip Advisor. It is our goal to make each visit perfect for our guests but occasionally we miss the mark. All we can do is ask for another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.1 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
2.8 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
99 reviews
14.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#4 of 41 in Bar Harbor
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
14.6 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
475 reviews
14.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Cottage Inn

Address: 9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4454
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 14,726 - ₹ 18,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbour Cottage Inn, a premier bed and breakfast providing very private and elegant lodging in the quiet and historic village of Southwest Harbor, Maine. Our beautiful location is steps away from a picturesque working harbor, near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, which makes many great adventures possible. The inn is furnished with museum quality art and antiques, and all of our 11 incredible guest rooms and suites offer cozy, comfortable and well-appointed spaces to relax, refresh and renew. Choose from a 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suite offering relaxing accommodations for 1 couple 2 couples or even a family of 6. Unlike most bed and breakfasts, some of these suites have private living areas, decks and kitchens. Imagine starting your day over a lovingly prepared breakfast on the porch, or in the living room by the fireplace. Explore restaurants, shopping, marinas and lobster wharves near our Mount Desert Island lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Harbour Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Cottage Hotel Southwest Harbor
The Harbour Cottage Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing