We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harbour Cottage Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quaint but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The building dates from the 19th century and while quaint, the room that we had was very small; we had no room to even put our suitcase on a stand. Breakfast both days was mediocre. Also, Southwest Harbor is a working harbor so be prepared to hear the harbor come alive not long after dawn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_SusanVienna_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djoel, Owner at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
One of the main reasons our guests choose to stay here in Southwest Harbor is for the quiet of a small Maine town combined with the uniqueness of a real working harbor. Add to that, direct access to Acadia and this lovely town truly becomes unique.
The inn itself has rooms of all sizes and some are in fact more cozy than others. I am not sure which room this guest stayed in but luggage racks are provided and work just fine for most guests. This is an inn that dates from 1870 and there were no private baths in those days. Now all of our rooms have private baths and bedroom size had to be adjusted. Our guest rooms are all beautiful with a focus on comfort. We even just added air conditioning to most guestrooms which is rare in Maine in a small B&B.
I am sorry that these guests found breakfast mediocre. It is difficult to respond to a general comment like that. I would encourage guests to be more specific and take a more kind and constructive approach. Unfortunately, try as hard as we may, we have been unable to satisfy 100% of our guests 100% of the time, That being said, our hearts are in this rewarding and challenging work and we promise to keep trying. After all we do enjoy a 4.5 out of 5 rating on this site which qualified us for a "Certificate of Excellence" from Trip Advisor . We're getting closer to perfection every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    44
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
163
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

My husband and I recently rented the Carriage House (part of the Inn) for our honeymoon and it was great! The spacious House has a very nice kitchen and living area--which also includes a fireplace! We truly enjoyed the serenity and privacy the Carriage House offered us. Each morning we woke up for Don's amazing breakfast! The food was fresh, creative, and most importantly delicious! The Inn also provided unlimited hot tea! What a treat! Don was always available for advice on what to see and do. If you are looking to stay in Southwest Harbor--the Harbor Cottage Inn is a must!

Room Tip: If you want privacy, rent the Carriage House! You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCS2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We arrived late on Friday and were greeted by an employee, which was fine. The next morning, during breakfast we were served by who we assume was Don. No welcome, no hellos, no thanks for choosing us. Rainy weekend, not the B & B's problem, but they were no help in trying to gear us towards rainy day options except for a piece of paper laying on a table. A little one on one would have been appreciated. We headed to Cape Cod and the owners of the B & B there were extremely friendly and gave us a map with a ton of places and restaurants that they suggested (and also what to stay away from). Don and Javier could use a lesson from them. Also, B & B in Cape Cod put our homemade cookies every night, again, nothing at this B & B. Drive to Bar Harbor wasn't bad. A few really good restaurants in S/W Harbor. Again, nothing was suggested to us, we found them on our own.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonSouthwestHarbor, Owner at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
I must take a moment and apologize to this guest for my lack of attention that morning but I remember the day very well. Unfortunately there was an emergency with one of our guests staying in one of our cottages that that took most of my time and attention. An ambulance had to be called and the guest transported to the hospital. Needless to say the safety and support of this guest had to be my first priority. I had to attend to that, be with the guest and family until the ambulance arrived and at the same time serve breakfast and handle guest departures. As a small business it was a hectic and stressful morning to say the least. By the time the situation was under control these guests had left for the day. It is a priority of mine to see that all our guests feel welcome and have the information they need to enjoy their stay. I hope to have an opportunity to make up for my lack of attention for these guests sometime in the future.
Although we do not serve cookies in the rooms at night we do have home baked goods set out each afternoon in the common room with coffee, a fine selection of teas and fruit . Our guests seem to enjoy this after a day of hiking and biking Acadia. We find this a healthier alternative to cookies before bed.
No two inns are alike and that is the beauty of a bed and breakfast experience. We appreciate the feedback expressed in this review as it offers us an opportunity to recognize where we may have gone wrong and to do better next time .Our guests are our first priority and we are committed to assuring the best possible stay during their visit to Acadia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

There is a great commons area for those rainy days. Some rooms are a bit small, but typical for houses of that era. Good breakfast, with a relaxing front porch.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westcj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The harbor cottage inn was a lovely bed & breakfast overall. The breakfast was delicious and in a lovely setting. The service was sensational. We were just under the impression it was a little closer to bar harbor, which is where we wanted to spend most of our short trip! Oh well, it was still lovely!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMTRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.2 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
14.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
14.9 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
15.4 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
14.9 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Cottage Inn

Property: The Harbour Cottage Inn
Address: 9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4454
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,261 - ₹ 17,712
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbour Cottage Inn, a premier bed and breakfast providing very private and elegant lodging in the quiet and historic village of Southwest Harbor, Maine. Our beautiful location is steps away from a picturesque working harbor, near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, which makes many great adventures possible. The inn is furnished with museum quality art and antiques, and all of our 11 incredible guest rooms and suites offer cozy, comfortable and well-appointed spaces to relax, refresh and renew. Choose from a 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suite offering relaxing accommodations for 1 couple 2 couples or even a family of 6. Unlike most bed and breakfasts, some of these suites have private living areas, decks and kitchens. Imagine starting your day over a lovingly prepared breakfast on the porch, or in the living room by the fireplace. Explore restaurants, shopping, marinas and lobster wharves near our Mount Desert Island lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Harbour Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Cottage Hotel Southwest Harbor
The Harbour Cottage Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing