We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lindenwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lindenwood Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Although we had a large, beautifully furnished room, the 'harbor view' was a stretch - a partial, distant view would be more accurate. Breakfast was hit and miss. Overall, we were disappointed and did not find this value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Still_travelling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    36
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
131
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were supposedly upgraded to a better room. Would not like to see the other room. We stayed in the house next to the Inn. Room was not well decorated. Breakfasts were decent but not Great. As a foodie I look for great food this was not it.

Room Tip: Small rooms with not much atomsphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve55331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We recently stayed here during Hurricane Irene. The hurricane did not do much damage. We stayed in the deluxe room. Very nice. We could have used a refridgerator. They do have a full honor bar which we did not use but I could see how that might be nice. The breakfasts were very good. Fresh and tasty. Fruit and scones every morning, coffee ready about 6:15 even though breakfast served at 8:00. The french toast was the best I ever had. The area was quiet. The bed very soft and comfortable. The staff polite and helpful. The value good. Fred and Jim the inkeepers were very nice. They did come down a little in price from the stated price. i just asked if that was their best price. The view from the room was limited but still a harbor view which was nice in late August. I am sure much better during the fall colors. They could trim down the trees to get a better view of the Harbor. The restaurants in the area were top notch. Red Sky, Fiddlers green and Thurstons Lobster pound were all outstanding. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The top floor room had a large deck and private hot tub. That would be the best room. Best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Some of you may recall the song "I'm too sexy" an eighties classic. I am convinced that the lead singer now resides in South West Harbor under the pseudonym of Fred. Fred and Jim's place was reasonable and made better by Fred. We found him to be engaging and welcoming. The rooms in the separate house were small but adequate. The location was excellent and much better than the very touristy Bah harbor. Excellent restaurants and bars within walking distance, including Sips wine bar which was excellent. They even had live music and an unusual guy in a vest was the star. There was no choice for breakfast but it was still good. All in all, a good stay in a really beautiful but touristy area of Maine that I would think about avoiding due to the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is the first time my fiance' and I went to a bed and breakfast. We loved it. The beds were comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. Every morning they served us something new. Everyone that worked there really excelled at customer service. The inn was on a quiet peaceful street. At night we felt like we were the only two people in the world. We sat on the patio everynight looking over the pool, ocean, and mountains, this is where my fiance' proposed to me. The location of the inn was perfect for us. 20 minutes away from main attractions like Cadillac Mountain (gorgeous btw) . 12minutes from echo lake and many trails like beech mountain. We made it to the top of beech mountain and it was breathtaking. After a hard day of hiking we relaxed in the jacuzzi.
I would have gave this place an excellent, but I had a couple of negatives. On the Lindenwood inn's website it says "Anyone up for a game of pool? The downstairs lounge is available for pool, darts, a drink or two, or a movie on our big screen TV." Unfortunetly we saw none of this. When I asked about the pool table, (cause that happened to be one of the things we love to do together), the inn keeper said that it is only open for special occasions, yet he was unclear on what constitutes a special occasion. We did not press the issue because that is not what we came there for, it was however one of the many reasons we decided to stay there though. One other minor complaint, the TV in our room was very tiny and the remote didnt work to well, we had beautiful weather so it did not really bother us since we were relaxing on our private patio every night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
14.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
15.0 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
14.9 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.0 km away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.7 km away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenwood Inn

Property: Lindenwood Inn
Address: 118 Clark Point Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4414
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,338 - ₹ 14,576
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Sea Captain's Home turned into a unique harbor side Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lindenwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenwood Hotel Southwest Harbor
Lindenwood Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing