We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
238
417
278
112
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
417
278
112
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room indoor pool two sinks waffles convenient location free breakfast would stay here again room was clean and comfortable old port hojo portland rachel cereal lighthouse rates shuttle channels
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a good value. The room was clean and newly renovated but the bathroom has not yet been updated. There was edging peeling off the lavatory counter. The staff were professional but we had no problems, so they were not challet. Would like a lounge chair in room. The only place to sit is the bed and desk chair. The pool seemed to be well used by others. The breakfast was average or slightly below average - nothing special. More seating at tables is needed in the breakfast room. Sitting at counters along the wall facing the wall is not very inviting.
Location is convenient to downtown but situation behind gas station is less than desirable.
Would stay again mainly because of price.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BMahanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you for staying with us in beautiful South Portland Maine! We are grateful for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

The Hotel is a great value with clean rooms and a great staff. I stay here almost every month. They keep doing upgrades and updates. The new room furnishing just this make this a better place to stay.

With the New Coppersmith Tavern right next Door now it also one the easy place's to stay and get a good meal with out having to travel after a long day.

The value just keeps getting better at the Hojo's

Room tip: I like the Double rooms
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler47p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you for staying with us in beautiful South Portland Maine! We are grateful for your positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

This was a very clean hotel. We were a little little leery because of some reviews but, we had a great experience and even decided to stay another night. Shaine at the front desk in the evening is awesome and has great customer service. We also went to the attached restaurant and loved it. It's attached so, you don't have to walk outside to get to it. Great location for the hotel, easy access to everything. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheChurchwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you for staying with us in beautiful South Portland Maine! We are grateful for your positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Got a great deal on the room which made some of the issues ok to deal with. The room was a good size for the three of us. The problem was the noise level coming from the hallway, don't know how to fix that without changing all the doors on the rooms. If you stay more than a day, you must let the front desk know you want the room cleaned, we didn't know and had to go down to the front desk to get clean towels. The hairdryer broke the first day, but they fixed it right away. We used the indoor pool once and it was clean and not too warm. The breakfast is from 6-9A. They offer enough to get you going for the morning, but the room gets very busy and the layout is such that you are constantly trying to move around people to get to the food. The drive to downtown Portland was only ten minutes.
Overall, we had a good four night stay

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank FredM737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you for staying with us in beautiful South Portland Maine! We are grateful for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We booked this at the last minute on a holiday weekend in October. Most places were sold out. We got a room at Howard Johnson. It was clean and the price was reasonable. It's a good deal for the money. Temperature control was good. Lots of hot water for the shower. Friendly desk people.
How could it be better?

WiFi only worked on one of our iPhones.
Two holes in the wall from where something had hung in the past.
art work was hung crooked
bed mattress was a little hard
On the top floor, some ugly bulges in the ceiling
mediocre hot breakfast
only one outlet on the shared bedside stand

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you for staying with us in beautiful South Portland Maine! We are grateful for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews