We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic

We visited with family on Saturday evening and had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Em7312
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
via mobile
Open plan without a plan

Pizzas were good. Everything was well priced. Music was too loud in the bar area. This contributed... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
jazzmanwho
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 75 reviews
  
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
33
4
9
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
33
4
9
18
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Was so excited to come and eat here for lunch, as we live in the village and would return often if it was good. Unfortunately that wasnt the case, we were seated in the restaurant area and waited 20 minutes to be served for drinks... we then another 20 minutes later had to flag someone down to order our food. 2 chicken salads and 2 beef noodle salads as well as sharing platter to start. The platter was not great, a tiny piece of mozzarela plonked in the middle with bread and some average meat that looked like was from the supermarket. The beef was very chewy, and the actual dish was very hot which it didnt say. The chicken in the salad literally again looked like it had been picked out of a supermarket packet and it was just tasteless.....will be eating in the other vast choices of restaurants from now in im afraid as they are much better!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Safari802989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownHotel, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown Hotel, we appreciate all feedback both positive and negative, we would like to use your feedback to learn from so would appreciate more information on your visit, if you could email me directly at info@thecrownbostonspa.com and we can talk directly, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As a resident of the village, it was great to see The Crown reopen, and what a great job they have done.
After several visits though, I feel compelled to share my experiences of having morning coffee.
If a side biscuit is offered with the £3 coffee then this should be a consistent offering. Several times now I have been given laughable excuses for the absence. In addition the coffee is often lukewarm and comes with much of it in the saucer. Come on management get your supplies sorted and attend to the detail.
There is much competition in this village so I predict a short future unless you sharpen up your act.

Date of experience: August 2021
2  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownHotel, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, unfortunately we have had some supplier issues since opening, however, we fully appreciate the feedback you have given and are sourcing a back up supply for our biscuits so we never run out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

Newly refurbished to a high standard The Crown promises a relaxed environment with good food. On first impressions the terrace and restaurant seating is fabulous. We were a little surprised at the limited menu, but accounting for the numbers of tables and how busy the restaurant was, it was probably a managed decision.
We ordered the sharing platter. The meats on this were very ‘standard’ with little to stand out regarding the quality or variety. Some locally cured hams would have made this platter more individual. We also shared the chilli beef salad. This had excellent flavour. Very fresh and crunchy in texture. The beef was excellent, but 4 thin strips on a large bed of salad seemed mean. The main courses were good value for money and the flavour of the food good. We had fish and chips and the burger. The only other issue we had (which may seem picky) was the Prosecco served in a glass that was not fit for purpose. Thick rim and short stemmed. I would expect this in a small local pun not anticipating many Prosecco drinkers and not a restaurant aiming to attract higher paying customers. I only hope the champagne is served in better glassware. The brandy was also served with ice!! Whisky maybe, but only on request; brandy, however, is better served warm, in a brandy glass and one would expect to be asked if ice was required.
We will try this venue again after it has bedded in for a little longer.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank elsim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownHotel, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Thank you for taking your time to review The Crown Hotel, all your feedback has been taken onboard and we are using it in our training sessions this week to improve our service. We have also noted your comments on the food and will be discussing these today, If you have an further feedback you would like to give please contact me directly at info@thecrownbostonspa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021

Went for a lovely roast on Sunday.

The building itself is beautiful & the outside area is lush. Food came at a desirable time & temperature and the staff were friendly and were attentive even though they were very busy. We arrived in the afternoon and stayed well into the evening as the wine was simply that good. We felt welcomed and left feeling very comfortable.

Would definitely go again and bring a few more friends next time!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Thegoodegg978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownHotel, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2021

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we cant wait to see you and your friends soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Seems like the reviewers on here seem to think the young staff gain their experience overnight.
I had a great time. The staff were all lovely, doing their best in a large venue.
Prawn cocktail was a generous classic, followed by Roast beef. Personally I like a bit of break in meal and we guzzled down the organic Rioja…
Come on give them a break. Thank you we will be back

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank X17XQjustineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownHotel, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2021

Thank you for this lovely review, I am really glad you enjoyed your time at The Crown Hotel, we hope to see you again soon for another glass of Rioja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews