We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review; great breakfast sandwiches, unusual tasting pancakes.”

Coastal Cafe and Bakery
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Searsport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 12
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Coastal Cafe and Bakery is located in Historic Downtown Searsport, just a short walk from Mossman Park and the Searsport Dock. We serve made from scratch pastries, including in-house Croissants and orange Danishes We have baguettes baked fresh daily, with other breads baked fresh 3 times a week. We are a small cafe, and as such, both owners work in house. You can be assured that every item that leaves our kitchen is under strict quality control. If your in the area, stop on by and see what the buzz is about. We will do our best to make you feel at home, give exceptional service, and fresh local food.
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We stopped at Coastal Cafe and Bakery due to the recommendation of the owner of the motel we stayed in. It had a nice crowd for breakfast, which is always a good sign. We ordered breakfast sandwiches and blueberry pancakes. While the breakfast sandwiches were excellent, the pancakes had a strange, almost burnt/fried taste to them. The service was good and the employees were extremely helpful, pleasant, and hard working. We will absolutely return here the next time we are in the area but we just won't order the pancakes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GrumpyandtheOldLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018

After going to the Marine Museum close by the cafe, we needed a quick bite to eat. We were seated right away, and the waitress was patient with our questions. Our sandwiches came quickly. Mine was the Ham and Cheese. It was delicious. A warm sandwich with a generous portion of ham and wonderful bread. Unfortunately, the reuben needs some work. The corned beef must have been reheated inexpertly, it was dry and crunchy and despite that it was still way too fatty for a sandwich. The sauerkraut was good, the bread was fresh and chewy, but the corned beef turned the whole sandwich into a greasy mess. Very disappointing. In addition, the waitress left mid-meal, and no one ever asked if I wanted more coffee. Which I did, but couldn't no one ever came back to my table to ask. So, we just paid and left.

Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celine K, Owner at Coastal Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

I'm disappointed that you didn't have a good experience with us. We have just moved into table service and a new cook-line, and are working our best to remedy exactly these kinds of issues. We have a whole lot of new staff working diligently to learn and get these things right, however some mistakes are happening, and I'm sorry they happened to you. If you are still in the area I would love to give you a sandwich on me, and another chance at serving you. I really appreciate the feedback, and we will definitely be going over this at our weekly staff meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Stop here and take a picnic to the coastal park behind Main Street.! We had the signature Rueben and Apple Cheddar panini on cranberry walnut bread. Very filling and each took a half home. Fresh and tasty, the bread is made daily on the premises. Warm and cozy interior space with a few tables. We were told that dinner will begin soon and I wish we lived closer..So quaint and a breath of fresh air after the tourist targeted restaurants of Bar Harbor. No wait for a late lunch and such friendly folks that work there! We took a dark coffee to go too! Delicious

Thank bidpool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely lunch here. Lots of options available for both drinking and eating. My toasted egg and cheese sandwich was delicious. Easy parking across the street too. Great service.

Thank Lin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Stopped for lunch after visiting fort knox and before visiting Penobscot museum which is a 3 minute walk so you park only once.

Looks like a small coffee shop but great sandwiches made with fresh home baked breads. Could be a great stop on the way up to bar harbor for breakfast or lunch.

Would stop again when traveling through.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bobretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Cafe and Bakery also viewed

Searsport, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Stockton Springs, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Coastal Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing