We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
43
23
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
23
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoysterscomfortable bedswalking distanceonly stayed one nightscarborough areaking roomtop floorwonderful staylobster rollconvenient locationbeachysurfersweddingemilynoisebathtubsleeping
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

been to this area three times-if you don't have a week off to rent a cottage - this inn is just the place. Recently remodeled, our room was very comfortable, staff very helpful and food was amazing on the deck! One block from beautiful beach great for surfing or SUP.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Over the summer, I've enjoyed the fish entree specials at Shade several times. The presentation has been very nice and the quality of the fish had been excellent. The halibut special was by far my favorite, followed by the swordfish and scallop specials. I'm posting my most recent Swordfish, plus the previous scallop and halibut photos and a steak entree and a mussel entree ordered by others at my table.
The service has been overall very good. Efforts have been made for special seating accommodations.

The wines on tap have been interesting. Not having a large selection of wine prods is beyond our usual variety. But I would like to see more than three on tap.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank HigginsBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2017

Hi Higgins Beach Traveler,

We are so happy you have enjoyed our restaurant over the summer. We are excited to be able to provide fresh seafood specials on a daily in our seafood centric restaurant Shade. Thank you for your great photo's and feed back. We look forward to seeing you next summer for some more beach side seafood specials and wine on tap!

Cheers,

Sidonie Rodman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Great job on the renovations - the Inn looks terrific. We really enjoyed our stay.
Hats off to your great wait staff and everything we tried at Shade was terrific.

We have already requested a longer stay next summer!

Kudos to the chef - the food was really great all week and we were well taken care of by wait staff every day.

See you next summer,
Cathy & Brian

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherineroxit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2017

Dear Cathy and Brian,

Thank you for this lovely feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Higgins Beach Inn and our eatery Shade. The staff appreciates your kind words and we will look forward to hosting you again next year for an even longer stay.

See you next Summer!

Sidonie Rodman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

The Inn still feels like it did 50 years ago. Luckily the beds don't! I had stopped staying here due to the fact that the beds were not replaced and we had to share bathrooms. Not any longer. The rooms are clean, well decorated and all have great bathrooms with great showers. The beds are comfortable. The only caveat to staying at this inn is the staircase ~ people don't remember that rooms are very close in proximity and can be loud! The bar also can get rowdy. I did call the front desk at 10:30 to ask about the noise level. Within 10 minutes there were no more rowdy noises. The breakfast in the morning is plentiful and included in the cost of the room. Parking is easy. This is the best beach on the East Coast.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the stairs and bar.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2017

Dear Molly,

We very much appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy with the renovations as we were able to restore the classic Inn with new amenities, as you said such as private bathrooms, A/C and Wifi, however it is still a older building so I am happy to hear you voiced your discomfort to our helpful staff. We are always happy to make adjustments to make our guests experience better.
I agree about Higgins Beach being one of the best beaches on the east coast and we are thrilled you are happy about enjoying your time here with us.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks

Sidonie Rodman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in late September. The inn is very cozy and clean - only a 2 min walk to the beach. The rooms are basic, but very clean and very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant 3 times it was that good - afternoon happy hour is fantastic, the dinner was one of the best we've had in Maine, and the complimentary breakfast was exceptional. Wonderful stay, highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank RoxyHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2017

Hi Roxy,

We are too glad you enjoyed your stay with us!! Thank you very much for your great feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your meals @shadehigginsbeach. We hope to see you again this fall for more oyster happy hour on Saturday and Sunday or again next summer.

Cheers!

Sidonie Rodman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews