We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Lovely Decor”
Review of Higgins Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Higgins Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We visited for 3 nights with other friends for a wedding. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was right off the entrance...well appointed BUT, warning: very noisy whenever guests entered or left. We were actually awakened at 2:00am by the night desk clerk as he was talking on the phone. He quickly ended his call when we told him we had been disturbed. The breakfasts and the restaurant/bar were amazing! We will definitely return! Next time we will just ask for a room on the top floor.

Room Tip: upper floors away from stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank teachspednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

been to this area three times-if you don't have a week off to rent a cottage - this inn is just the place. Recently remodeled, our room was very comfortable, staff very helpful and food was amazing on the deck! One block from beautiful beach great for surfing or SUP.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Over the summer, I've enjoyed the fish entree specials at Shade several times. The presentation has been very nice and the quality of the fish had been excellent. The halibut special was by far my favorite, followed by the swordfish and scallop specials. I'm posting my most recent Swordfish, plus the previous scallop and halibut photos and a steak entree and a mussel entree ordered by others at my table.
The service has been overall very good. Efforts have been made for special seating accommodations.


The wines on tap have been interesting. Not having a large selection of wine prods is beyond our usual variety. But I would like to see more than three on tap.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank HigginsBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2017

Hi Higgins Beach Traveler,

We are so happy you have enjoyed our restaurant over the summer. We are excited to be able to provide fresh seafood specials on a daily in our seafood centric restaurant Shade. Thank you for your great photo's and feed back. We look forward to seeing you next summer for some more beach side seafood specials and wine on tap!

Cheers,

Sidonie Rodman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Great job on the renovations - the Inn looks terrific. We really enjoyed our stay.
Hats off to your great wait staff and everything we tried at Shade was terrific.

We have already requested a longer stay next summer!

Kudos to the chef - the food was really great all week and we were well taken care of by wait staff every day.

See you next summer,
Cathy & Brian

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherineroxit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2017

Dear Cathy and Brian,

Thank you for this lovely feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Higgins Beach Inn and our eatery Shade. The staff appreciates your kind words and we will look forward to hosting you again next year for an even longer stay.

See you next Summer!

Sidonie Rodman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

The Inn still feels like it did 50 years ago. Luckily the beds don't! I had stopped staying here due to the fact that the beds were not replaced and we had to share bathrooms. Not any longer. The rooms are clean, well decorated and all have great bathrooms with great showers. The beds are comfortable. The only caveat to staying at this inn is the staircase ~ people don't remember that rooms are very close in proximity and can be loud! The bar also can get rowdy. I did call the front desk at 10:30 to ask about the noise level. Within 10 minutes there were no more rowdy noises. The breakfast in the morning is plentiful and included in the cost of the room. Parking is easy. This is the best beach on the East Coast.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the stairs and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2017

Dear Molly,

We very much appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy with the renovations as we were able to restore the classic Inn with new amenities, as you said such as private bathrooms, A/C and Wifi, however it is still a older building so I am happy to hear you voiced your discomfort to our helpful staff. We are always happy to make adjustments to make our guests experience better.
I agree about Higgins Beach being one of the best beaches on the east coast and we are thrilled you are happy about enjoying your time here with us.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks

Sidonie Rodman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
4.2 km away
Black Point Inn Resort
Black Point Inn Resort
#3 of 13 in Scarborough
209 reviews
8.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
8.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#12 of 21 in Portland
117 reviews
6.6 km away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in South Portland
1,434 reviews
9 km away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higgins Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higgins Beach Inn

Address: 34 Ocean Ave, Scarborough, ME 04074-9424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 12,500 - ₹ 21,859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Higgins Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a stone's throw from the Atlantic Ocean, Higgins Beach Inn is a classic Maine beachfront Inn. Completely renovated in 2017 to refresh guest rooms, common spaces, and the on-site dining experience, Higgins Beach Inn is the perfect place for a couples retreat, family vacation, or an ocean activities getaway. Located about 15 minutes away from excellent dining, shopping, and nightlife in Portland, Higgins Beach Inn is perfectly situated for any traveler seeking to explore Southern Maine in summertime or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Higgins Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Higgins Beach Hotel Scarborough
Higgins Beach Maine
Higgins Beach Inn Scarborough, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing