We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My Favorite Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Point Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Point Inn Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Favorite Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

My family has been going to the Black Point Inn for ages each summer. This Thanksgiving we stayed at the inn for two nights and loved it in the fall as much as we did in the summer. It is my favorite destination in Maine because of three main reasons:

(a) The kind and friendly staff (Jen is a true gem)
(b) The increible sea views
(c) The charm of an old New England inn

Sure, the rooms are a bit dated. Sure, the food is a bit too fancy at times. But the fire is always going and the sea breezes are always flowing.

Get me back to the Black Point!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoGoPiaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    45
    16
    8
    12
See reviews for
48
87
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This inn has all the old New England charm with all the a modern facility. Expensive but a real treat with magnificent views.

Room Tip: Walk around the point. They also have a wine dinner at the end of each Season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

it is a very beautiful place. amazing views. had a 4:00 sitting for dinner, but the turkey was undercooked and dry - proabably would have been worse if it was cooked all the way. rest of the buffet was ok, good variety. but there was no desserts left. service was ok, young lady looked like she ran out of steam and was barely moving.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

The hotel was bought by locals who went on to sell the huge ocean-front pool where there are now condos (or houses). Service is really bad in the hotel and the restaurant. Service is great in the Chart Room but it gets busy so go early. Would I stay here again, probably not, would I eat here again, not in the hotel restaurant but yes to the chart room (bar).
My husband and I stayed here for many years and were so disappointed on our last visit. You get the feeling the only want Prouts Neck folks here, seems kind of like their own little world!
We now live in Maine and when people ask where to stay I say elsewhere.
I wish they could bring the old hotel back with all of its glories but at least they still have the view which can't be beat!
Also, not very kiddie friendly, food or otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susesuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Beautiful location and great setting. Everything about this place was spectacular. Private tennis club across the street that you can play at. They only have 25 rooms so you will need to make reservations.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neiko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
14.4 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
14.7 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
10.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#10 of 13 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
14.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
6.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Point Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Point Inn Resort

Property: Black Point Inn Resort
Address: 510 Black Point Rd, Scarborough, ME 04074-8624
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 32,206 - ₹ 32,273
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Point Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1878 and surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean on three sides, with 18 holes of links golf, hiking and running trails (including an Oceanside Cliff Walk past the studio of renowned Prouts Neck painter Winslow Homer), literally miles of sandy beaches, tennis, a swimming pool and beach club, Black Point Inn is legendary for its location, guest facilities, and unpretentious downeast hospitality. Prepare to be captivated by the unhurried pace, gracious charm, and attentive service of Maine's most beautiful and historic oceanfront Inn and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Black Point Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Point Hotel Scarborough
Black Point Scarborough
Black Point Inn Resort Scarborough, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing