We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can only be described as filthy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Lorida, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can only be described as filthy.”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

When we first arrived we were placed in a room that looked fine, but then found out it was not a smoking room which I had booked. We were moved to another room that can only be described as nasty. There were urine stains on the sides of mattress apparently from a dog and on the floor around the bed. There were blood stains and huge tears in the chairs. The toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the last occupants left. There was no silverware except for a spatula in the drawer, and the toaster was crusty with filth. The phone was disgusting and I had to use my cell phone to call the front desk. I do not believe there was a piece of carpet in the room that wasn't stained so we didn't dare remove our shoes. We were scheduled to stay for 5 nights but we checked out after only one night and it would have been sooner if I hadn't been dealing with making the funeral arrangements for my Mother, which is why we were in Maine. We took pictures of the disgusting room and I had planned to fight to get my money back, but with everything else going on, I decided to just let it go and to never come back to this hotel or suggest it to anyone I know.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a nice place...it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    45
    26
    13
    26
See reviews for
48
47
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We booked the hotel through expedia as it was the only hotel available in the area. The hotel itself looks nice from the outside. Check in was okay but not professional or efficient. We got to the room which again was okay. Then my wife sat on the bed and I saw the expression change in her face. WORSE BED I HAVE EVER SLEPT ON. It was like a board with a sheet over it. We contacted the front desk and they said that they were sold out of other rooms and besides, all the beds are the same.

We slept maybe 15 minutes at a time. Neither one of us could be comfrontable. We had a 8am flight and actually checked out at 5am since sleep wasn't coming. We went to the airport and slept on the seats there which were much more comfrontable.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Was checked in by a non-professional rap-star-wanna-be. KID must have been 19, AT BEST. Room was disgustingly filthy... Nasty stains on carpet, such that I wouldn't trust walking in the room with bare feet. Bathroom vent was so loud and clearly in need of repair, toilet hadn't been cleaned prior to us using the room. Thank God I travel with Lysol Wipes. I would not recommend this place to ANYONE... Friend or foe!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnamichelle326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syndey
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I booked this hotel/motel thru priceline & paid $50 a nite. We stayed for two nights. The previous reviews I had read made me a little a nervous but I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The grounds were in immaculate shape. The hotel itself & our room was very clean. There were three of us & we needed two beds. The room I booked thru priceline had only one bed but they accomodated us by changing our room for the same price to a room with two double beds. The staff were great! The hotel was close to shopping which was the main purpose of out trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I would never stay here again! My husband was horrified when we first walked in and angry at this choice to begin a short weekend, get-a-way trip. After complaining about the filth of the first room, we were given a second room. This was equally dirty; clogged tub, stained matress, dirty refrigerator, dirty carpets, questionable sheets. The best part was that I did not see any bugs. Stay away!!!.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catholic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
1.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
3.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough

Property: Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
Address: 2 Ashley Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,766 - ₹ 14,185
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Portland - Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Extended Stay America Scarborough
Extended Stay Scarborough
Scarborough Extended Stay America
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing