We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Everything was perfect about this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and quiet.

The suite was up to date and spacious. Bedding is very comfortable. The housekeeping staff did a great job in the room and throughout the entire building. And even though the hotel was busy, It was very quiet in the room

The desk staff was very friendly and professional. The location is just a few minutes to the airport and about 10 minutes to downtown Portland. WiFi worked flawlessly and was fast enough to stream video.

On top of all that it's very competitively priced. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in town.

The breakfast buffet and dinner buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you so much for writing this nice review of our hotel. We have a great Homewood Team who enjoy taking care of our guests. We are pleased you were happy with your visit to our hotel and please do come back soon!
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    134
    32
    12
    1
See reviews for
240
189
22
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middle of Nowhere, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Homewood Suites Portland is a great place to stay for families in the Southern Maine area. The one-bedroom rooms are a good size for a family like ours (three kids 5 and under) and the amenities are all quite nice. The beds were super comfortable and the kitchen had everything a family needs, minus the oven, for an extended stay. The prices were very reasonable when we were there, although I do wish there were more 2-bedroom units available, as I would have likely chosen that over the one-bedroom. When we had a problem with our room (the A/C went out in the living area) the maintenance folks couldn't fix it right away so they offered us a new room. Breakfast was pretty good and not usually too crowded if you get there earlier on. Dinner on the nights it was available had some good options and was a great alternative to going out to eat three meals per day. If we decide to stay in the Portland-area when we return to Maine, we will certainly give the Homewood Suites our business.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philibuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

It is very clean hotel, about 4 years old, service was excellent, smiley people at the front desk and housekeeping staff, food was really good, coffee is available 24 Hrs. You can’t go wrong by choosing this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherifG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
What a nice review you wrote about our hotel, thank you so much. We are so pleased that you found our staff so accommodating. Our suitekeeping team take special pride while cleaning the suites and it shows throughout the hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again when travelling to the Greater Portland, Maine area.

Warmly,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect about this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and quiet.

The room was up to date and spacious. Bedding is very comfortable. The housekeeping staff did a great job in the room and throughout the entire building. And even though the hotel was busy, It was very quiet in the room

The desk staff was very friendly and professional. The location is just a few minutes to the airport and about 10 minutes to downtown Portland. WiFi worked flawlessly and was fast enough to stream video.

On top of all that it's very competitively priced. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in town.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Spitfires135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Unfortunately our second visit to this hotel was a big disappointment, especially given how good it was the first time.
As we approached our room there were really strong food smells in the corridor which we assumed came from one of the neighboring rooms, however it turned out that they came from the room we were given. We were in a hurry so just left our bags and headed out, so it was only when we returned and went to bed that we realised the food smell was ingrained in all of the fabrics, pillows, mattress, etc. by which time we didn't want to get up, pack and move rooms. Instead we sprayed copious quantities of Febreeze but it failed to mask the food smells and we slept very badly. The odor had also pervaded into our bags and clothes so everything we had taken into the room needed washing / dry cleaning.
The room itself was clean (just very very smelly!) and the receptionist who checked us in very welcoming however when we mentioned the problem at checkout that receptionist didn't seem interested and just shrugged.
The breakfast was not great - the host was sullen and the food selection poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your return visit to our hotel. It was disappointing to hear that felt as though you didn't have as pleasant a stay this time as in your previous visit. You certainly deserved a clean, fresh, odor-free suite. As a Homewood Suites by Hilton hotel, some of our extended stay guests make themselves at home by cooking some of their own meals. I apologize if you experienced some lingering cooking odors in your suite. I do hope you will give us another chance and choose Homewood again when in our neighborhood.
Sincerely,
Kim Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
8.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
7.9 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
7.8 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
8.3 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Address: 200 Southborough Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074-5904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,757 - ₹ 23,012
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our indoor pool and Jacuzzi will keep all children, young and old, entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Hotel Scarborough
Homewood Suites Scarborough
Portland Hilton
Portland Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Scarborough, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing