We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect about this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and quiet.

The room was up to date and spacious. Bedding is very comfortable. The housekeeping staff did a great job in the room and throughout the entire building. And even though the hotel was busy, It was very quiet in the room

The desk staff was very friendly and professional. The location is just a few minutes to the airport and about 10 minutes to downtown Portland. WiFi worked flawlessly and was fast enough to stream video.

On top of all that it's very competitively priced. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in town.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Spitfires135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    130
    32
    12
    1
See reviews for
234
184
22
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
337 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Unfortunately our second visit to this hotel was a big disappointment, especially given how good it was the first time.
As we approached our room there were really strong food smells in the corridor which we assumed came from one of the neighboring rooms, however it turned out that they came from the room we were given. We were in a hurry so just left our bags and headed out, so it was only when we returned and went to bed that we realised the food smell was ingrained in all of the fabrics, pillows, mattress, etc. by which time we didn't want to get up, pack and move rooms. Instead we sprayed copious quantities of Febreeze but it failed to mask the food smells and we slept very badly. The odor had also pervaded into our bags and clothes so everything we had taken into the room needed washing / dry cleaning.
The room itself was clean (just very very smelly!) and the receptionist who checked us in very welcoming however when we mentioned the problem at checkout that receptionist didn't seem interested and just shrugged.
The breakfast was not great - the host was sullen and the food selection poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your return visit to our hotel. It was disappointing to hear that felt as though you didn't have as pleasant a stay this time as in your previous visit. You certainly deserved a clean, fresh, odor-free suite. As a Homewood Suites by Hilton hotel, some of our extended stay guests make themselves at home by cooking some of their own meals. I apologize if you experienced some lingering cooking odors in your suite. I do hope you will give us another chance and choose Homewood again when in our neighborhood.
Sincerely,
Kim Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

It is very clean, everything in the hotel is either new or in a very good shape, bathroom tubs are new. Also extremely friendly staff.
Overall, we were shocked how much better it is than many 4* hotels we stayed in.
Will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilunMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear LilunMtl,
Thank you for the vote of confidence! We take extra pride in taking excellent care of our hotel so that our guests will continue to come back, time and time again. We hope to see you soon.
Kim Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were told by a family member that this was the best place to stay in Portland. The family member was right! We traveled with our 2-year old and it was the perfect place as she could take a nap and/or go to bed at night in the bedroom while my wife and I were able to still talk with one another and watch TV in the other room without keeping her up.
The leisure of having a kitchen made life much easier as we could have a wider variety of snacks to choose from during our stay as well as prepare our own lunch and dinner instead of going out to eat all the time.
The service was wonderful and the hotel was very clean. We went to the pool one morning and as we arrived we noticed all the towels were gone. A quick trip to the nearest worker helped get a full rack of towels within 5 minutes from when we asked.
The breakfast is not like any other "free" breakfast. There was a nice variety of hot items (scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries, french toast, waffles, egg sandwich, and hash browns) and everyday items (yogurts, fruits, bagels, toast, danishes, coffee, tea, and juice) throughout the two mornings we ate there. The morning staff worked hard to keep the place clean and all breakfast items well stocked.
All in all, this is a great place to stay for the price. I hate to give away all the secrets of this hotel as I hope they'll always have room for my family when we're traveling to Portland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineTraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Maine Traveler82,
With such a wonderfully written and positive review, we also hope that we will always have a suite for you when you and your family travel to Portland! On behalf of the entire Homewood Team, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your spacious suite, the breakfast, and the helpful staff. We recently added waffles to the breakfast offering and feature them 2-3 times a week and our guests just love them. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for the great review!
Kim Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Room was extremely quiet, staff was very nice and the whole place was immaculate. The halls, elevator, pool, lobby room were all spotless. This hotel offers a few smoking and pet friendly rooms, which I was nervous about, but you would never know it when you're there...they must have an amazing housekeeping staff.

The breakfast was more than adequate and the free dinner was actually pretty good too! (I think they only have the dinner on weeknights)

My only complaint is the temperature control in the room...it blew hot or cold air, no neutral fan option, so we just kept it off most of the time.

Overall, this is a great family friendly hotel and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hi LBRod,
You are right! We do have an amazing housekeeping staff! Thanks for the great review of our hotel, your comments are very important to us. We look forward to having you return as a guest again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
7.8 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
8.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
7.8 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Address: 200 Southborough Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074-5904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,246 - ₹ 20,196
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our indoor pool and Jacuzzi will keep all children, young and old, entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Hotel Scarborough
Homewood Suites Scarborough
Portland Hilton
Portland Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Scarborough, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing