We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay in the Camden/Rockport area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Great place to stay in the Camden/Rockport area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

My husband and I had a very pleasant stay here. No complaints at all. Our room was large and clean with cute cottage-like details. It opened onto a grassy lawn with pretty flowers. It was a convenient location for our activities in both Camden and Rockport (it is right off the main road) and is adjacent to a little mini golf place as well as a mexican restaurant/bar for a late night snack without needing to drive. I accidentally left my hairdryer there and the staff immediately mailed it out to me priority mail at no cost to me. We would stay there again if we visit that area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcb_maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billhahn, Owner at The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Several days ago I spent some time responding to issues that had occurred during stays at our Inn. It occurred to me after that it would be appropriate to show my appreciation for those that take the time to write a positive review of their experience with us; we do appreciate your efforts on our behalf which make it rewarding, not just necessary, to make our continued best efforts for our guests. Best to you and travel safely.....

Bill Hahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    66
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
74
65
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

When we eventually found the Inn (our GPS did not acknowledge the road given in the address) we were disappointed to find it a bit frayed (towels), torn (valence on bed) and cracked ( hand basin). The room was a good set up for a family with seperate lounge area, fridge and microwave but WiFi did not work for us. Breakfast was fine, the kids love making waffles but very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I recently stayed here on a family visit to Maine and the place is very cute. It has a very "homey" feel. Upon our arrival, my dog was greeted with an LL Bean doggie bed and biscuits which I thought was a very nice touch. The room was very spacious and very clean and it was very nice to have the kids watch TV in another room. The breakfast could have been better. They only have one waffle maker so the wait time was less than desirable. The only con was that there must have been another family on the floor above us because we kept hearing rumbling until late at night. However, all in all we would definately come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AARVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

From the moment we checked in, until the moment we checked out, we were disappointed. We got lost finding the place since the address is incorrect on the website. The staff people both at check in and check out were not welcoming to say the least. The woman "yelled" at another guest who wanted directions. On check out, did she ask about our stay? No way! The breakfast was about the worst I've seen. People previously commented about the muffins and pastries. Trust me, they are the kind you buy in a vending machine, not even worth heating up in a microwave. There was barely any milk for cereal, the fruit bowl was almost empty, and they ran out of silverware. We ate in our room as there were no places to sit.The sofa bed had no linens and was pretty hard. The two thermostats on the wall do not work, although the air conditioner by the window functions.The decor is worse than old fashioned, just dated and dingy. For the price we paid, you certainly don't get your money's worth! Trust me, you can do better!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orangetigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billhahn, Owner at The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
As the owner and general manager of the Country Inn at Camden/Rockport, I would like to provide information that may be helpful to others considering staying with us. We work hard every day to make each guest's stay a positively memorable experience and I am also disappointed when that doesn't happen for some reason. Specifics:
1. The address on the website is correct as 8 Country Inn Way, Rockport, Maine 04856. Having said that, some GPS programs and mapping programs haven't updated to include this street name which was established about five years ago. For that reason there is a note at the top of our Directions Page which suggests using 40 Commercial Street as a destination which is the location on Route 1 where Country Inn Way intersects. The map links at the bottom of the directions page also show the correct location as does Google Maps now.
2. Our staff deservedly gets excellent reviews from most, and without the specifics of the situation I cannot adequately comment.
3. Baked items on our breakfast bar are prepared in house, and where possible with local ingredients. The eggs in our muffins and quiche are from Bowden's Egg Farm, Waldoboro, Maine; granola is from Grandy Oats, a Maine Company; milk is MOO Milk (Maine's Own Organic) from a series of family operated farms around the State; we like to feature Maine blueberry juice to educate folks about the health benefits of blueberryies. We have a dedicated person handling breakfast for guests, and while serving dishes do get emptied, we do refill them and make every effort to provide a healthful and happy start to each guest's day.
4. We are admittedly a bit space challenged in the busiest of times, which is a situation we will be working on.
5. If we know that guests will need the couch for sleeping at reservation, it will be made up on arrival; if not, there are linens for the couch in the bureau drawer. Failing that, which sometimes happens, the front desk will be happy to provide whatever is needed.
6. Thermostats on the wall control the heating system; cooling in rooms is with a through wall unit, not on the thermostats.

I hope this has been helpful,
Bill Hahn
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a 1 bedroom cottage that was clean, comfortable, and well maintained. There is a small kids play area on site which is an added bonus for those with kids. Also, there's an indoor pool which we didn't use.
Breakfast was described as deluxe continental. It included English
 muffins, waffles, fruit, but seemed to lack in "protein" choices. Also, the breakfast area seemed a little small for the number of guests.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loudpeyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billhahn, Owner at The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
I appreciate the comments of this guest. Our breakfast includes home baked items, locally produced granola, organic cereals, quiche made daily in our kitchen, fresh fruit, and waffles. The breakfast area can be challenged space wise occasionally, but generally provides a comfortable, friendly place to start the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.8 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.8 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
6.3 km away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
10.4 km away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.7 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#4 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport

Property: The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Address: 8 Country Way, Rockport, ME 04856-6147
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rockport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,439 - ₹ 17,977
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of yesteryear, at Country Inn at Camden/Rockport, the pace slows and the mind rests. In this family friendly hotel with designated pet suites, you will discover the casual essence of Camden and Rockport Maine and come to know you can just be yourself here. It’s a place that invites you to be relaxed and fully at ease. Discover the coziness of this modern inn resting on wooded grounds. Country Inn is located between Camden and Rockport Maine harbors along Route One. Savor the moments in our heated swimming pool, cozying up to the lobby fireplace or enjoy building a snowman in our backyard. A country style breakfast buffet is provided each morning and late afternoon refreshments are offered each day during tea time. Warm chocolate chip cookies are served in the early evening as you prepare to relax. Don’t forget to check our hotel’s specials and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Inn At Camden / Rockport Hotel Rockport
Country Inn Rockport
Rockport Country Inn
The Country Hotel At Camden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing