We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Inspiring

Very beautiful collection inspiring in the tremendous artistry of its painters. Enjoyed the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Charles A
,
Topsham, Maine
Wonderful

Not a fan of Jamie Wyeth and not terribly familiar with N.C. Wyeth before arriving here, I learned... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
dignashe
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 844 reviews
  
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
626
177
33
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
177
33
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wyeth family on display permanent collection olsen house main building robert indiana special exhibit three generations louise nevelson old church across the street several buildings wonderful collection small town converted church winslow homer sculpture garden
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

The Farnsworth is a delight with several galleries to enjoy on their beautiful campus. For Wyeth fans, you must stop here!
Super gift shop too!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Gailthesailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This year there was a stunning new exhibit of Wyeth in Rockland as well as many other paintings we have not seen in our 12 years of visits. Wei Wei/s sculptured gilded heads of the Chinese zodiac were amazing in their detail and grace, and knowing his back story, even more incredible.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

I am not by nature an art lover but the Wyeth exhibition proved to be well worth the visit, even if they don't have the most famous painting there!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Public Relations Manager at Farnsworth Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you for the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed the exhibition! The painting you are referencing is most probably Andrew Wyeth's Christina's World, which resides at the Museum of Modern Art in NYC. Certainly worth a visit if you get a chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

The Farnsworth is well known by Wyeth lovers, and we went down there to see a special N.C. Wyeth show before it left. What we did not know, however, is how much else the Farnsworth has, and what an accessible space it is. We were able to tour the whole museum in just over 2 hours, without feeling rushed. Docents are standing by if you have questions, but there's plenty of space and the day we were there no hordes of tourists. The Chinese zodiac sculptures by Ai Wei Wei were displayed in such a striking way that I could have spent the whole afternoon right there. Check out their website and go if you can!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Katharine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Public Relations Manager at Farnsworth Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you Katharine for your kind words!
We all feel so lucky to have the current Ai Weiwei exhibition on view, and I'm glad you had the chance to see it here.
We certainly hope you'll have a chance to visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

As someone not too familiar with the Wyeth family of artists, I visited this museum not quite knowing what to expect, but left quite impressed with not only the Wyeth artwork available on view, but also the exhibits encompassing more modern artwork of Maine, of impressive array and variety. Someone could easily spend a long morning or afternoon here, maybe more. This is the best type of Art Museum, in that I left wanting to explore more about the Wyeth family, and the art and artists of the region. I also left intrigued about how a town of this size developed such a substantial museum and gallery, very impressive. This museum is probably best for teens to adults, young children may become bored or restless.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jamesaswansboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Public Relations Manager at Farnsworth Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words. We're so glad you were able to visit with us, and we certainly look forward to you joining us in the galleries again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews