We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Inspiring

Very beautiful collection inspiring in the tremendous artistry of its painters. Enjoyed the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Charles A
,
Topsham, Maine
Wonderful

Not a fan of Jamie Wyeth and not terribly familiar with N.C. Wyeth before arriving here, I learned... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
dignashe
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 844 reviews
  
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
626
177
33
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
177
33
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wyeth family on display permanent collection olsen house main building robert indiana special exhibit three generations louise nevelson old church across the street several buildings wonderful collection small town converted church winslow homer sculpture garden
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

What a find. What a painter. As a pretty much art No-Nothing I soaked up the whole exhibit and experience. From his paintings to the incredible preparatory drawings to a memorable tour of the Olson House. Will never look at " Christina's World" the same again.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank OldOldBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Love to visit to see what is new.
The wealth of Wyeth art and the presentation is instructional and inspiring.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank frank51h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Public Relations Manager at Farnsworth Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We are glad we stopped in to view this art museum. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the collections especially N.C. Wyeth. Easy to locate this museum. We also were able to easily park the car.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank AdvicebyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Public Relations Manager at Farnsworth Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We hope you'll be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We enjoyed this small museum in Rockland with its focus on Maine and Maine artists, featuring three generations of Wyeths and their artists friends. This museum is a North American reciprocal museum so if you belong to a member museum in your hometown, bring your membership card and you can get in free and save the $15 admission fee!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank emfeAthens_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Public Relations Manager at Farnsworth Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for your kind words!
We love it when a member of a reciprocal museum visits with us. Supporting your local museum is so very important!
Hope to see you back in our galleries again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

I’ll confess that our visit to Rockland was inspired by the desire to celebrate a birthday dining at Primo restaurant, but other trips have been simply to see a particular exhibit at this very accessible art museum. Ai Weiwei’s gold gilded sculptures of Chinese zodiac heads did not disappoint. The docent helpfully pointed out that the base of each was different and that the artist had himself designed the tables on which each piece sat. My photos do not do them justice (I’ll spare you the one if me posing by the Ox, my sign, or my husband with the Pig), but they were beautiful. We visited the Wyeth annex and enjoyed the exhibit of NC’s on loan paintings from which book covers and page illustrations were made. A very pleasant way to spend several hours.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank michele49johns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Public Relations Manager at Farnsworth Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

So glad you were able to visit with us during your trip to Rockland. Heading to Primo Restaurant for a birthday celebration seems like a wonderful reason to come to the Art Capital of Maine! The culinary arts certainly shine brightly in this town as well!
Hope to see you in the galleries again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews