We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great week on Mooselook!!!”

Review of Steiman

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from driveway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
View from driveway
View through woods
Deck
Main Floor Sunroom Futon bedroom
Upper Level Bedroom
Upper Level Master Bedroom
Upper Level Bathroom
Lower Level Bedroom
Lower Level living area with 2 Bunks
Lower Level Bathroom
Firepit
Wooded path to water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Rangeley, Maine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaryEliza...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake and property but...”
Reviewed 23 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The best thing about this rental was the beautiful lake! It was beautiful! We loved the décor,the extra refrigerator in the sunroom, the outdoor porch and especially the fire pit! The dock was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the sunrise and listen to the loons. The con's would be the sleeping arrangement. Its listed that it can sleep 12 but its more like 6 because the walkout basement is not suitable for sleeping. It was soo musty and the rugs were damp. The humidifier and the random moisture absorber that were randomly put through the room unfortunately did not help. All 6 ppl who slept down there woke up smelling musty. I felt like this could be a health issue for anyone with breathing issues. Everyone was moved upstairs. Also the Grill was in bad shape. It seem to be missing part of the burners so only part of it work but we made due. Overall we loved the place, but for the amount of people and the price we paid we would most likely rent another property.We did address this with the Rental company, Morton and Furbish and they quickly responded, thank you for that!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
The beginning of July was very hot and muggy so we thought that is what was going on with the basement. The dehumidifier has always kept up in the past. Our maintenance man went down after this guest left and realized the dehumidifier was not working properly. The filter needed to be changed. Once the filter was changed it seems to be working well now. Our maintenance man checked it again on Sunday 7/29 and said the basement did not smell and seemed ready and fresh to him. The grill was purchased late last summer, so it is less then a year old and just needed some tweaking and maintenance. Our maintenance man checked that again on 7/29 and everything seems to be operating correctly now. Please know that any issues guests have during their stay we will do our BEST to solve ASAP. We feel awful this family dealt with a musty basement because we want everyone that stays with us to have a fantastic vacation! :):)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yes and no”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The highlight of this rental (for my family and for me) was the lovely lakefront. This is a beautiful property in terms of the land and waterfront. We swam daily, used the row boat, and enjoyed the fabulous fire place. However, for the price (@2600 per week after all fees) I expected a top notch, great condition unit/house. Instead, my family felt the house was "tired." My husband patched the hole in the row boat successfully. The bedrooms were perfectly fine upstairs, but the basement area, which sleeps about 6, was fairly damp and I would argue would benefit from a better humidifier. Too, the tap water (well water?) was cloudy and off color. The toilets were markedly stained. This is life in the woods, but I have never had this experience before with the water in the many years I have stayed in this area. The grill outside also was not in working order. Again, all of this is understandable, but for the price, my family will not rent this house again. In sum, it is a beautiful lake front - we felt fortunate to be there - and Morton and Furbish is wonderful and responsive! But, for us, we will likely choose a different Morton and Furbish house next time around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Hi! Thank you so much for your feedback. I spoke to the owner of the property and we both are committed to making her home a wonderful vacation rental for families inside and out. We will make sure the housekeepers check and empty the dehumidifier between renters (she said that should eliminate the musty smell in the basement). Also, she plans to research the cloudiness in her water this fall. We will make sure next spring to do an inspection of the home before our first guest arrives. The grill should be in working order, and if not our housekeepers are supposed to report that to us. Sorry again for you experience at this home, and we hope to see you next summer!! Have a wonderful day. Beth :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NH
Reviewed 30 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Otisfield Maine
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing