We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed two night and took advantage of all the amendities. My kids loved the pool and we spent many hours there. It as clean and had plenty of chairs and towels. The views from our room on the 5th floor was amazing. We woke up just after the new snow had fallen on the city of Portland. It was just a walk acoss the street to the Portland Childrens museum. The restraunt had a great menu with reasonable prices. Kids eat for free. The Breakfast options satisfied even my little picky eaters. The staff was very helpful and freindly. The place to stay when in Portland.

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking the bay.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,119)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 786 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

We recently decided to have a mini get-a-way weekend in Portland and a friend highly recommended the Holiday Inn-and what a FANTASTIC recommendation it was!! The hotel was not only more than reasonably priced (we paid a little over $115 after taxes) for a room with a beautiful view, large bathroom, and king sized bed. The hotel offered free parking (which they let us park early-before check in, and stay in the garage the entire next day after checkout), discount drink tickets for the lounge, a shuttle service that would bring us not only to our desired location, but would also come pick us up (until 1am)!! The Holiday Inn couldn't be in a better spot- it was about a 15 minute walk down to Duck Fat (a most fantastic restaurant- that you MUST try), a 2 minute walk to the civic center (we caught a Pirates game), and a 5-10 minute walk from shopping, music venues, restaurants/bars etc. We are already planning a trip back for the summer and without question will re-book at the Holiday Inn- honestly, the hotel was spotless and recently updated, the staff was helpful and right on with their recommendations, and the pool was clean and refreshing. Upon checkout we were offered bottles of water for the ride home- seriously...how often does that happen?! I would not hesitate to highly recommend the downtown Holiday Inn to anyone!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCoaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed here just for one night while traveling last week. We were able to get a room at the last minute, and it turned out to have beautiful, sweeping views of the downtown shipping district and the water. The room was large, clean, and comfortable, with a big flat-screen TV, king-sized bed, nice bathroom, free WiFi, and a Keurig coffee maker (with complimentary K-cups). My only complaint was that the pillows were very uncomfortable - they felt like they were full of cotton balls. This made it hard for me to sleep, along with the constant noise of jets flying overheard (the airport is nearby). The hotel is located right downtown within walking distance of lots of great restaurants, and has a free parking garage for guests. They also have a heated indoor pool which is open until 11 pm. We enjoyed the pool to ourselves after dinner, although its surroundings are rather austere. No complimentary breakfast (everything starts at $9.99), but the service was friendly and helpful to us. I would definitely recommend the Holiday Inn if you are looking for a place located right in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view if it's available. Excellent views of the city!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjs0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed one night for a Portland Pirates game. Perfect location, just a walk across the street to the civic center. Helpful, pleasant staff; boys had fun in the pool; clean, comfortable room. Awesome view of the Bay from the 7th floor. Easy walking distance to restaurants and coffee shops.

Room Tip: bayside will have great views
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed the day that Portland had it's first real snow! At any time of the day, and in any weather, the views are arresting. Very comfortable rooms with good amenities. Close to museums, theaters and sporting events I would recommend it.

Room Tip: You want to be on the "water side"!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,422 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
4.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: ₹ 10,343 - ₹ 24,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing