We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My recent stay at this property was a wonderful experience. I hadn't stayed in a Howard Johnson's for many years. My experience here was terrific. The front desk staff went out of their way to be of assistance and were always helpful and friendly. My room was spotless and much larger than expected. The furnishings included a reclining chair facing the TV that wasn't just shoehorned into an already small space. It is a 4-4 1/2 mile easy drive to downtown Portland and if you are willing to make that drive the $50-$75 daily savings is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boneman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    576
    345
    118
    54
See reviews for
530
518
133
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at Howard Johnson Plaza Portland for three nights last week. We had read the other reviews and thought it was worth a try. We were pleasantly surprised to find such a clean, well-decorated and friendly hotel. Our room had a king size bed and a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. There was no noise from the highway. Seasons restaurant in the hotel was excellent. In fact, we had dinner there twice. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who was staying in the Portland area. The price was more than reasonable compared to the other hotels in the region.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor which backed on to a small courtyard. It was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1910Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I stay at this hotel every time we go on a trip or just staying overnight in Portland. It is the staff that makes us come back. The place is clean and we find the place to be quiet. We now book well ahead of time because the secret is out about this hotel. Also the shuttle drivers are great and no matter what time early morning 4:30am or near midnight they are very friendly. Keep up the customer service and you'll need to add on to the place as everyone will want to stay there. Also the price is great.
The Bourassa Family

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaB892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Excellent hotel, very clean, great customer service..After a bad experience at HOJO's in Bangor we had second thoughts about staying at another but there was no comparison, like day and night. Would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPORTERNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. Very reasonably priced. The Seasons restaurant attached to the hotel is pretty good and has a bar you can eat in as well. Forget the Friendly's next door, it's not worth a visit. If you are in the mood for breakfast, go to the Denny's just a few blocks away. I liked this hotel and would stay again. I stayed here to run in the Maine Marathon. It was very convenient and close to everything (if you have a car). There is a decent gym with two treadmills (one worked well) and some other machines. Also has a pool. The only issue is that when it rained you could not gain entry to the side of the building with your room key card. They really need to fix the side entrance to the hotel to make it more secure and to make it work better. All in all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningOnAndOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
6.0 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
3.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
6.6 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
6.7 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Property: Ramada Plaza Portland
Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,818 - ₹ 14,287
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing